“Power Outage Again また停電” [English and Japanese]

B06C0BA5-FACF-4B5C-B519-AE86104DB70D.jpeg
93A69112-9868-4A2B-BC87-2D6469AD67E0.jpeg

“Power Outage”

We had a snow storm again last night. It wasn’t a big storm I thought but it damaged our power lines again… We lost our power again! I can’t remember how many times we lost our power last year and this year. Also, the power cost was just recently raised…

The estimate recovery time was around 2:45 am when we lost power around nearly 6:00 pm. We accepted our reality even though we felt a bit upset with this situation. Luckily, my husband had just started a fire so, we weren’t cold when we lost our power. I prepared candles everywhere in our house. I set aroma oil for calming our feelings as well. I got snow in a container from outside for flushing the toilet. It was getting darker and darker little by little but outside snow was illuminating our house. It wasn’t as dark as I guessed. I took some photos in our dark house. I like to see candles.

Surprise! Our power came back on around after 8:00 pm suddenly. This is a very rare situation in Nova Scotia. Usually, everything is very slow. Anyway, we enjoyed a quiet moment for a few hours. I heard that downtown didn’t lose power except a few places. Yet, some areas still don’t have power. I hope we don’t need to worry about power issues anymore with renewable energies someday in the near future.

「また停電」

昨晩はまた吹雪でした。そんなに酷い吹雪だとは思っていなかったのですが、また停電になりました。またです!去年も今年も合わせて何回停電になったのかもはや思い出せません。最近電気代が上がったというのに…。

午後6時くらいに停電になり、復旧予定時刻は午前2時45分とのことでした。ちょっと腹立たしく感じましたが、仕方ないので現実を受け止めました。ラッキーなことに、主人がたまたま薪ストーブに火をつけた時だったので、電気がなくても寒くありませんでした。家中にキャンドルを設置しました。気分を落ち着かせるためにアロマもたきました。トイレを流すために外から雪を容器に入れて準備しました。外がだんだん暗くなってきましたが、白い雪が家の中に反射して思ったよりも暗く感じませんでした。暗い家の中で写真を撮りました。

驚きです!突然午後8時過ぎに復旧したのです。ノバスコシアでは全てが遅いのが常なので、とてもレアな状況です。静かな時を数時間すごせました。町で聞いたのですが、停電しなかったそうです。それでも停電した地域もありますし、まだ復旧していない地域もあるそうです。近未来ではこうして停電を常に心配しなくてもよいエネルギー源ができる事を願っています。

C4A8424C-5B1C-4DDD-A564-3354CD59CF7C.jpeg

6F04AC74-BD6A-45BA-A3BC-0D8F170D865C.jpeg
Outside is still feeling bright with snow.
外は雪のおかげでまだ明るく感じます。

DCEF33CC-A274-4A91-9F66-6CC400106E89.jpeg
The wood stove warmed us up.
薪ストーブが体を温めてくれました。

DCEB104F-DF25-4870-AF15-91D21733E4F2.jpeg
The candle light also warmed us up. This Zazen lady’s candle holder shadow made me calm.
キャンドルの灯りも温めてくれました。坐禅をしているキャンドルホルダーの女の人の影が、気分を落ち着かせてくれました。

576A68AC-DF64-4BA2-BB8C-3DEB631A1B36.jpeg
My dog looked a bit confused. He has his strong routine so, he felt why was tonight very dark and quiet!?
私の犬は少し混乱ぎみです。彼はとてもしっかりとしたルーティンを持っているので、いつもと違う静けさと暗さに疑問を感じているようです。

26BD21A7-601A-4CE8-B0DF-81579D008767.jpeg
My Site: https://koto-art.wixsite.com/mysite-1/home

Sort:  

It's annoying to lose power. But at least you got some nice photos out of the event!

Yeah, you are right! If we didn’t lose our power, I couldn’t have these photos:)
I heard that some houses still don’t have power… I feel sorry for them because it’s very cold here. The power company should give them discount!