LessHorrible Photography - Leaves

Hey Guys!

It's autumn, and it least here in the UK the weather is miserable. To remedy the autumn blues I scanned through some of my older photographs from last year and rediscovered a train of thought I think I lost some months ago.

The reason I enjoy turning colourful photos into black and white images is because it allows me to amplify lines, structures and light. Personally, I enjoy the intricate little details that are sometimes not visible in colour photography.

The below picture was taken last year, in a nature preserve in Germany. This place is a weird one. A few decades ago, an underground coal reservoir caught fire. However, even flooding did not stop the underground fire from burning. It is still going strong. Coal does contain some sulphur, and when it burns it turns into an oxide. This compound smells to us like rotten eggs. Guess you did not see that one coming after reading "Leaves" in the title. This little anecdote is just another reminder that nothing ever exists in a vacuum and every single story crosses over and runs under another story line.

My favourite things about this image are the little details than are visible on the leaves, like their vascular structures. This is not a huge surprise as they are basically on a light microscope, with the sun being the light source.

I hope you enjoy this image.

Leaves.jpg

Thank you so much for stopping by and hope to see you soon!

Cheers,
@lesshorrible!