Travel with LightCaptured - The amazing Cathedral of Saint Mary views from its four towers

Good morning, travelers!

Some time ago I shared with you my photographs of an event I stumbled upon, the shooting of a Bollywood movie in Sibiu, Romania. I made a promise then, more to myself, than to @erikah and @bluemoon, to share more of my memories and tell you more about that breathtaking architectural marvel I visited then.

The Lutheran Cathedral of Saint Mary

I would say, well, an hour is definitely far from enough to enjoy it and the views from its four towers.
I will spare you the facts and info about it as I have put a few wiki link below to save you some searching time.

I am really really happy that I've had the chance to get upstairs and spend some quality time despite people waiting for me down below :)

DDH_4289.jpg

Also, as it seems I was happy enough to avoid overcrowded times, as those observation points aren't big, nor spacious.

DDH_4255.jpg

It would be really interesting to find out what has been the initial intended purpose of those towers by the architect who created that cathedral.

Well, obviously, apart from the idea to take your breath and mind away!

Getting up there could be slightly tricky and interesting "paintings" could be met.

DDH_4258.jpg

Yup, just a net, stopping the birds and the insects to fly inside.

Narrow staircase with a few tiny windows providing precious breathing air and limited street views.

DDH_4328.jpg

Was it worth it?
That, my friends, is a rhetorical question. Of course! Absolutely!

You have already seen the photo on the top. Those towers practically give 360 degree perspective of the whole city.

So, my suggestion here, bring a binocular or telephoto lens for your camera here as there is plenty to see. Enjoy too.

That cathedral has unique roof, I have never seen such patterns anywhere else.

DDH_4269.jpg

The tops of the typical Transylvanian city buildings.

DDH_4298.jpg

Also something, that is quite typical, is the "Eyes of Sibiu".

DDH_4313.jpg

Do you see it? Here's another perspective ;)

DDH_4342.jpg

The beauty of the city can tell so many stories.

DDH_4314.jpg

DDH_4315.jpg

More stories, could be told by the people passing by. That angle, the unique perspective that the altitude gives, is really enchanting to the eyes and the mind that starts to wander too.

DDH_4270.jpg

DDH_4294.jpg

DDH_4305.jpg

DDH_4286.jpg

I went up there early in the morning and still, you could see, the historical center of the city is pretty busy, already.

DDH_4290.jpg

People we coming to the cathedral even at that early hour.

DDH_4292.jpg

DDH_4303.jpg

Now something interesting that I've learned due to the fact I visited the towers.

DDH_4295.jpg

After taking this photo, I saw that the German name of the city is still popular, and as it seems from the manhole cover inscription.

Hermannstadt

That really raises questions, as if you open a map you will see that the city is almost at the center of Romania. That's at least a few hours drive from the capital and any of the neighboring countries. Interesting, that name, right? Its history? Well, I bet you would like to find out more now! :)

DDH_4295-2.jpg

Such a unique place, isn't it?

Oh, well, I definitely should go there at least once more and plan for more time!

Here are links to read more about the Sibiu Lutheran Cathedral https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sibiu_Lutheran_Cathedral

I highly recommend spending a couple of days on foot in the so called "The Upper Town" in Sibiu, Romania: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sibiu

Eyes of Sibiu: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Eyes_of_Sibiu

Buy my stock photos at Alamy: https://www.alamy.com/portfolio/112427.html

Buy my 1/1 exclusive NFTs on OpenSea: https://opensea.io/LightCaptured

Buy my stock photos at Adobe Stock: https://stock.adobe.com/contributor/206416265/lightcaptured

Copyright: LightCaptured
All the photographs, digital art and text in my posts, unless specified otherwise, are my own property and created by me.
If you wish to use any of my works, please drop me a line!

Have a great day!

The divider I use in my posts I have created in Adobe Express.

Sort:  

I so love to see... how you see places in Romania. I am delighted that you like Sibiu as much as I do, and I am delighted that you like Balchik as much as I do!

Just as @gabrielatravels hasn't been to that cathedral tower yet, neither have I. It remains that on my next trip, who knows when it will be, I will go there. For Gabriela, it will be much easier, because she lives in Sibiu. I don't know if @erikah has visited the cathedral and the tower but I think if she goes through Sibiu, she will. All of us from Romania will visit or revisit a place you recommend.

I think it's very nice and thank you for that!

Thank so much. Kind words. True! I think I have some invisible connection with this charming sea city...

With pleasure!

What a lovely post @lightcaptured! Thank you very much for this and for tagging us! I'm tagging @gabrielatravels on this as she will be interested in it, I'm sure. (She's really going to mute me now, for tagging her every single day 😂🙈)

At least we get to see what you can't, if you don't climb up there. The city is lovely for sure, with a rich history.

Thanks so much! :)
Indeed, that lovely experience has brought me to a lovely post, it couldn't be anything else :)))
I would really love to read the travel stories of Gabriela and @bluemoon once they manage to visit the cathedral.

First, thanks again @erikah for tagging me. I simply love this feature especially that sometimes I don't have enough time to stick around and end up missing lots of interesting posts and news :D

Secondly, it's awesome seeing @lightcaptured 's post so quick after I wrote my experience visiting the cathedral. The bad part though, is that I missed the whole fun as I didn't get into the tower but which I promised I'll visit one day too. Until then, I can only enjoy the beauty from your pictures, thanks to you :D

You're very welcome :)
Same here, sometimes life gets crazy an I miss posts, but what can you do?

Thanks for sharing that link, Gabriela, a great article and now I realize that the only reason I went up the towers was that nobody was playing on the organ at that time of the morning. I am a real sucker for organ music and otherwise I would be stuck in the hall :)))

Thank you!

Hiya, @ybanezkim26 here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Travel Digest #2025.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

Thanks so much, Kim, that's a lovely surprise. Glad you liked my article! :)

Wow fascinating photos! Thank you for sharing your lovely photos. Great way to view the city from this vantage point. I find the Eyes of Sibiu truly interesting. :) Happy #thankfulThursday!


Made in Canva

!ALIVE

- @iamraincrystal - Moderator/Alive Video Master
_
This post has been curated by the Alive And Thriving Team, we curate good content in the We Are Alive Tribe that is on topic for #aliveandthriving, and it's included in our daily curation report on @aliveandthriving, plus @youarealive is following our Curation Trail.

Thanks so much for your kind comment and support! :)
Have a great day!

Glorious photography, and truly fascinating narration to go with it! 😁 🙏 💚 ✨ 🤙



Made in Canva

- @tydynrain - Comment Moderator

Thanks so much, so glad you like it! :)

You're so very welcome, absolutely! So much! 😁 🙏 💚 ✨ 🤙



Made in Canva

- @tydynrain - Comment Moderator

@lightcaptured! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @ aliveandthriving. (4/40)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want, plus you can win Hive Power (2x 50 HP) and Alive Power (2x 500 AP) delegations (4 weeks), and Ecency Points (4x 50 EP), in our chat every day.

Wow i love the placea aand the photo

Wonderful, thanks so much! Have a lovely time reading my story!

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Much appreciated, I wish you a lovely day ahead!

Wow! What beautiful true scenery there my dear friend! Honestly, I have never been to a place with great architecture like this. You had great shots too and I love them all. Best regards!

Thank you for your kind words and time, glad you liked it! Best regards to you too!

I'm always so impressed, even blown away, by not only your stunning photography, but also the deep, rich, nuanced stories that you tell about them! This city is gorgeous! 'The Eye of Sibiu' is fascinating! What absolutely incredible views from up there! Thank you so much for sharing this fantastic adventures! 😁 🙏 💚 ✨ 🤙

Thanks so much, great positive, motivational and inspirational words! :)

You're ever so welcome, @lightcaptured, most certainly! It is my honor, pleasure, and privilege to visit you on your wonderful posts! 😁 🙏 💚 ✨ 🤙

what a nice roof on the church