Attention Photographers

Hi All,

I just purchased my first DSLR camera, Canon 80D and it came with a 18-55 mm kit lens. I am still watching loads of YouTube videos on how to use this camera and how to use the different type of modes.

In my previous photography blogs on HIVE, I posted pictures that was taken from my Dji Osmo Pocket or my iPhone 8 Plus. Those pictures were great, but seeing other photographers on HIVE and the image quality they can produce from their DSLR, is far greater then the Osmo Pocket. So I decided to take this hobby to the next step and I bought myself a DSLR. I love getting out of the house and explorer new locations in my beautiful city, Sydney. So I will be using my camera to take nature, sunrise and sunset shots.

I need some help from the Hive community with some useful resources to set me on the right path to become a great photographer. I am still trying to grasp the concept of aperture, iso and shutter speed. Should I bother with AV and TV mode on the Canon or should I just learn the manual mode? I also believe that the kit lens is not great for nature shots, so I need some advise on which lens to buy.

I took my Canon EOS 80D for a test spin and with some touch up on Photo Shop Express;

DD887D9FA3D342079AE7444DCE7F3FB0.jpeg

CameraLensFocal LengthISOExposure
Canon EOS 80D18-55mmf/5.61001/20sec

Please leave some feedback..

Thanks for stopping by :)

#photography #photofeed #OCD #GEMS #qurator #teamaustralia #help

Social media: Instagram | Twitter | YouTube

Team Australia.png

Sort:  

Definitely learn manual mode. Once you master that you don't even want to go back to the automatic modes.

Manual mode is like the final level in a game. I want to reach that level

Congratulations! Welcome to the World of photography! 😀
I came to steemit in the end of July 2016.
I had a Nikon D5000 but I knew nothing about photography.
So now photography is a part of my life although I still don't earn money with it.

Do you sell your photographs on photo banks / microstocks?

No, I didn't try it. I don’t think my work is good enough.
Also I heard from other photographers that it's not profitable in most cases. One of them was posted here on hive about a week ago.

Where?

I can't find it right now from phone

Thank you, I will see where this hobby takes me. At least it gets me out of the house and explore new locations

You absolutely have to master the AV/TV modes, I mainly use them. Learn about the RAW format and post-processing.

By the way, I don't use manual mode usually.
I usual use a aperture priority mode and select aperture according to situation.

Last time I went out I had the camera on aperture priority, I found it was easier to understand

There's a lot to learn so I would say just experiment with everything, try manual mode then auto mode, and then all the other modes. And look what each of the things does. Actually the kit lens is the best lens for the beginning I believe. And after a while you have mastered everything you can start looking at other lenses you think you should buy.

Sounds good, I just need to get out there and experiment

did you use a tripod for this one? looks like you have some motion/shake blur. 1/20 for hand held is a bit tricky.
Learn manual, than use what ever mod you think you need to use.
For sunsets and sunrises i feel manual is the best to get the photo you want, because AV/TV will always try to give you what camera thinks is the right exposure, but in case of the sunrise it might not be the right for you.
Use RAW, as you will need to get most from your shadows and highlights.

Here are 2 posts that i started about manual mode 2 years ago. maybe i should finish the series:
https://peakd.com/tutorial/@bil.prag/is-manual-mode-hard-what-how-when-and-why-part-1

https://peakd.com/@bil.prag/is-manual-mode-hard-what-how-when-and-why-part-2

Yes I used a tripod for that shot. That picture I posted was in JPG format.

That's what I need, thanks for the links, I will have a good read of those :)

Thanks for the advise:)

jpg is ok for posting, you shoot raw so it give you more options in editing, then you export in jpg.

Congratulations @liverpool-fan! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 8000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 9000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - Let's grow together!
The HiveBuzz Shop - New Items and Designs

Try not to worry too much about the endless menu on your camera. Did you use a tripod on this shot? If not you have a very steady hand! I mostly use Aperture mode and a lot of manual focus. You might want to get a telephoto zoom lens as your next purchase. It's a lot of fun and will expand the subjects and the "look"of your shots. I have a 70x300 that I use everyday.

I used a tripod for that shot, also I had my camera on aperture priority mode. I found that mode easier to understand. I will keep that in mind. Thanks

OH! How wonderful that you could get a new and extraordinary camera, friend @liverpool-fan.

That is my big dream too. I hope I can do it.

It is very important to study how to improve our artistic work. Practice and permanent study are the key to wisdom.

I congratulate you. You must be like a child with a new toy lol

Beautiful photograph of your publication. I almost forgot to mention it, for the emotion of the camera

Manual is great when you have plenty of time to set up your shot, I almost always use that for landscapes. Action shots and shots with movement in them it's a lot easier to use shutter or aperture priority settings or even auto, you can spend less time worrying about settings and more time getting your shot right. For years I only shot manual but I have since come to appreciate letting the camera do some of the work for you.