Having fun in the rain



cl9o6omwc00t00wkc1r47a3z8_DSC09777.webp
cl9o6oyxn00sy15kc1gupacc4_DSC09773.webp
cl9o6p6i600rs0ikcbgkafwkx_DSC09784.webp
cl9o6phl200t20wkce9en6ri6_DSC09764.webp
cl9o6pywl00t015kc0sofboy0_DSC09721.webp
cl9o6qbzd00sn1dkch5byacro_DSC09715.webp
cl9o6qq4w00ru0ikcdq7g0ol0_DSC09756.webp
cl9o6r6m100t40wkc1xvx4z4e_DSC09713.webp
cl9o6rjdc00t215kc4vp9grbe_DSC09786.webp

Does the rain stop you from having fun?

Long gone are the days of vibrant, warm, weather and replaced with constant downpour. That doesn’t mean we can stop from having fun and going outside. I found out there is a beauty in taking photographs during rainy days. In fact, there are many helpful and informative courses out there that let you learn how to take pictures during rainy days.

This morning when I was about to go to the gym, the rain started falling. It was quite heavy and there was no way I could go especially when I rely so much on public transportation. So, I grabbed my camera and went outside my complex and had fun in the garden.

I met my landlord’s daughter and had a chit chat and talked about the rain. We talked about how we keep complaining when it’s hot and complain more when it’s raining. We seem to never have enough. While we were talking, I was also telling her a bit of photography knowledge that I picked up from the past year. My photography journey started again around this month last year and continued on until today. I learned so much but also torn between the idea that the best gear provides the best result or that gear doesn't matter at all, what matter is techniques and skills.

I recently read a piece from Ken Rockwell that argues otherwise and led me to find out about Ansel Adams in which despite black and white photography, the images evoke certain emotions and have remarkable composition. Finally, what I learned is that you make things work with what you have. Not to mention, taking pictures isn’t just about the sharpest/clearest image but also about the story or emotions that we want to convey. I am definitely not on that level yet but I try to learn to create pictures that’s not just pictures. It really is like the famous common saying, everyone can write but not everyone can be a writer. I suppose that applies to photography as well.


For the best experience view this post on Liketu

Sort:  


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @macchiata ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

I Love Rainy Days! Did some workout today and I never even sweat because of the cold weather. (it's raining here too)

😂 That's the perk of rainy days, hardly sweating and less sticky. I love rainy days just cause it's colder but sometimes it's not fun staying inside especially when it's downpour day and night constantly.

Hello dear friend @macchiata good day
I love rainy days
It is very true what you say, the photographs must convey the emotions that one wishes to share with the photographs
I love these beautiful images, I appreciate that you have shared
Have a lot of fun this rainy day

I would say, I love and hate it. I mostly love it cause it's cold but hate it cause I can't go anywhere. Thanks for liking those images, always happy to share. Cheers.

You can really take great photos in rainy weather. I think the most artistic photographs are taken in this weather.

As for the best equipment or the best skill, I think both are of equal importance. If you give a great photographer a bad camera, I think there is a limit to what he or she can do.

Rain usually synonymous with romantic which I think influence some artistic photographs circulating around. I mean, with prosumer camera there are a few that we can do but I am still amazed how people in the past created crisp photos despite not having the latest gadgets and tools that we have now.

This is something that really puzzles me too. But as you mentioned in the post, the reason why those photos are impressive is that they tell a story rather than just a photo.

Excellent macro shots. The rain and snow season is about to begin in my area. It's currently 8 deg C.

Whoa, must be darn cold! I remember being around in that temperature, my hands were numb while taking pictures.

That's why it's necessary to have a camera that can withstand low temps and wet conditions. Not many fit the bill. I'm not a big fan of the cold, but this year I'm planning to buy a sci-fi heated vest to carry around my own heating system when shooting. :)

With these photos you have been able to photograph the rain in an excellent way

I just practiced the techniques I learned online. Glad it's well received hehe.

Wow, so you learned online. excellent results

I love to take photos when is rainy outside! it gives a really good aspect to the photos!

Yes! with the right settings and angle, it could be pretty good and romantic too as I mentioned rain gives off romantic vibe to a picture.