I Went Cross-Country Skiing For The First Time This Winter

It has snowed a little. There was a couple of centimeters of snow on the ground today morning. The city opened the first roughly three kilometers of trail yesterday. There's 30-40 cm of snow from storage, on top of which there was fresh snow and on which the tracks were made.

IMG_0316.JPG

I left my car in the parking lot next to the ski jump.

IMG_0318.JPG

There are many trails in the forest. Those snow machines are used to create a sufficiently thick cover on that one.

IMG_0321.JPG

That shop seems to have been opened at the earliest opportunity. If a pole or a ski of yours snaps into two, no worries. You can buy new ones as long as you have money with you.

IMG_0323.JPG

Free style in the middle, traditional on the side

IMG_0325.JPG

Way too little snow in the forest for trails through them.

IMG_0326.JPG

Those large chunks of compacted snow or ice are proof that this trail is made of stored snow. There is a large field close to this place for storing it over the summer. A massive pile of it is kept on the old race track under a meter thick layer of sawdust. Not even heat waves reduce the pile too much. Long-lasting rain is worse.

This news story contains a video of the site.

IMG_0327.JPG

I have to turn back here. That large building is a grain silo.

IMG_0328.JPG

Back to the shop.

IMG_0331.JPG

Almost back to the car. This trail was about 2 km long.

IMG_0332.JPG

It seems that the water hose or a connection leaks a bit. The black one is probably the power cable.


IMG_0335.JPG

I'm going to make my life easier by removing the snow from the driveway.

IMG_0334.JPG

The gate is designed to be wide enough for the snow pusher.

Sort:  

I've been skiing from 5 years old, such a great sport!

Best form of cardio there is.

It's been many years since I went skiing and I only tried cross country (with proper skis) once. It was a lot more difficult than I thought it would be, that's for sure :)

I believe it can be.