You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: People photography | 15 rolls in 15 days - Day 9

These are very good. Now I want to go out to town and take shots of my own. I agree that asking for permission is not necessary. First of all, you may want to capture the moment of people going about their normal business without awareness of being photographed. Also, it is completely legal (and ethical) to do so unless you portray the subjects in a manner that reflects badly on them. All your subjects should be shown in a way that maintains their dignity.

Sort:  

You said it very nicely - it's absolutely vital not to try and show people in a bad light. In funny situations sometimes, but not in a bad way. Simple rule - if it was me in the photo, would I share it or not. Glad you liked the photos!

I'd also add that showing people in an undignified light could be illegal as it is in Finland. What exactly that entails is up for the courts to decide but I wouldn't push it.