Karla Caves | Underrated place of India| World Heritage Site

Hey friends,

Welcome to my new travel blog. Let's ready for virtual tour of Karla caves. It is world heritage site and it is located in Mumbai. Still very less people will know about this place. I am also unaware about this beautiful place. One day I scrolling on Instagram and I check one reel about this place. In that reel they mentioned the place name so I checked that on google map and luckily its very near from my home. So I shared that reel with my friend and did a plan to visit this place. This place name is Karla caves which is located in Borivali, Mumbai.

IMG20220918143559.jpg

How to reach

a) By Air
Nearest Airport is Chatrapati Shivaji Maharaj International Airport and its connected to all over the world. Once you reached in Mumbai you will took private cab or auto towards Sanjay Gandhi National Park ,Borivali.

b) By Rail and Road

Mumbai is well connected by rail and road by all with all over India and Public transport is available from all over India.

Once you reach Sanjay Gandhi National Park you have to bought ticket to enter Sanjay National Gandhi Park. There is various charges related how you are going to enter into the National Park. I go alone so I bought ticket at 76 Rupees which is approximately 1 dollor. If you willing to do with motor cycle or car then it will charged more. After enter into the National Park I picked the bus to go Karla caves. It 21 Rupees for bus ticket. Once you reached the Karla caves You have to pay 25 Rupees to enter into caves. It really low charges to watch 109 caves with ancient sculptures.

IMG20220918143927.jpg
Welcomes with natural waterfall

When you enter into the caves first thing you see is waterfall. Its small and very beautiful. Its way too much beautiful then I imagined and that time I believe that its gonna be one of the best experience of my life. If you want to see the waterfall video than visit this reel video

IMG20220918144129.jpg
First look of caves

After this beautiful waterfall I move forward and I saw the first looks of caves. I clicked some picture from stairs and excitedly walk faster to see the beautiful architectures. Once I reached their I amazed and for the minute I just watch the architecture and think how they built this without any advance technology. And for the second lot of thoughts coming into my mind. Are we really advanced in terms of technology? How they built within single stone carved? In today's time also it is very difficult task. Are you have to watch the first look of caves then watch this short video

IMG20220918144412.jpg
panorama view of caves

IMG20220918144351.jpg
Caves view with monsoon

Actually the rain makes more beautiful all the things and it also recommended to visit this place in monsoon season. I missed the one thing in this heritage site as there is no guide or instruction board which explains the importance of this place. it was such nice location as view from the front of this caves is so beautiful.

IMG20220918144708.jpg

IMG20220918144612.jpg

View from front of this caves

IMG20220918144838.jpg
Your host Mayuresh

I always attracted towards the Ancient architecture as it shows us that time culture and carvings shows us that time peoples believes and most curious part is purpose behind this ancient architecture. If we studied our heritages then we will able to know what technology they were used in that time. As I read about this carla caves it was that time university of Monks and all monks were lived in that place and there is around 109 caves and in some caves you will see the Buddha's statue and in some caves there place for dinner and sitting area. Let's explore the caves one by one.

After enjoying the view of big caves I goes to explore small caves which is located on hill. To reach there there is stairs available and on stairs there is water flowing continuously and it gives the feeling like you did trekking through waterfall. It really gives me thrilling feel even it just a stairs. If you want to watch the stair video just checkout this reel.

IMG20220918145335.jpg

IMG20220918145209.jpg


Besides the stairs their is small canal in which water is flowing and it was all man made but have to salute that time engineer who has built it so beautifully. You can see the canal video by seeing this reel

IMG20220918150331.jpg
Small canal built by ancient Indians

IMG20220918150307.jpg
Upward side of where more caves are built

IMG20220918150149.jpg
Opposite side of canal where more big caves are build

It was like your surrounded by the treasure and where you see you found more and more caves. So I excited to explore more and more parts of Karla caves.

IMG20220918150511.jpg
Front view of one cave

When I reached the top I saw this beautiful cave so I goes inside that cave but it was empty so I am little bit sad as I think there will be sculpture or carving but that was empty caves so I disappoint. While seeing other side I saw one more caves so I finding way to reach in that cave.

IMG20220918150525.jpg
Another cave

It was nice way but also dangerous at it is little bit sleepery but I have a lot desire to watch that cave so I dare to go through this way.

IMG20220918145905 (1).jpg
Way to reach that cave

After reaching to that cave I was so excited and also have little bit fear as It was deep inside in forest there is warning of leopards but still I did dare to go inside the cave and what I watched I just amazed. It was like I found the hidden treasure. If you want to see real video how dark inside that cave than watch this reel.

and https://youtube.com/shorts/8TgfT2s4qmM?feature=share

IMG20220918150854.jpg
Buddha's sculpture inside that cave

I am so happy to see the actual sculpture of that time and I just looked how they carved this in stone in such darkness.

IMG20220918151447.jpg

IMG20220918151416.jpg

How I observed the carvings

This findings are made by day and while returning from that cave I also clicked the outer view of that cave. As you see the below picture you will observed that how finely they did a finishing on stone and all caves are carved into the single stone of hill. I salute those engineers how they completed with this level of master without any advanced equipment's.

IMG20220918153118.jpg
Outer view of that cave

While returning from that cave I also observed there is some carvings in stone in old language so I click picture of that word. I didn't able to understand that language but I clicked the picture for my future reference.

IMG20220918153319.jpg
Words carving at that rock

IMG20220918153353.jpg
Beautiful forest view

Standing at that point also gives you the beautiful view of Sanjay Gandhi National Park and It makes more beautiful and pleasant experience of this visit. Below are some picture of those caves I hope you all like it

IMG20220918155147.jpg

IMG20220918155142.jpg

IMG20220918153929.jpg

IMG20220918153836.jpg

IMG20220918153826.jpg

As you saw in above pictures those two are empty caves with sitting arrangement but there is carving in stone. If anyone has knowledge of that language then please translate that into the English in below comment section. After exploring 3 caves I am searching for another one and I found one more cave with sculpture.

IMG20220918160010.jpg

Cave with stupa

If you want to see the video of above cave then kindly watch this reel

and below are some pictures of stupa and carvings of that cave.

IMG20220918160143.jpg

IMG20220918160121.jpg

IMG20220918160109.jpg

It was like your exploring the new things as there is no signboard and there is nothing written information about the cave. Also there is one museum which were closed for certain reason so there is no official people who provide information about the monuments. After seeing that all small caves I move forward to the starting point were all peoples are visit. Which was the main attraction of Karla caves. As I did not left much time to cover all the caves I going towards the main attraction of karla caves.

IMG20220918160237.jpg

IMG20220918160256.jpg


Entry Gate of Main cave

As you saw in above image you will imagine how big it is. I think it was 50 feet tall entry gate of this main cave And I was so excited to watch the carvings and statues inside that cave. I amazed while seeing the huge statue and carvings on the wall if anyone wants to watch the video of this than watch this reel

IMG20220918160321.jpg

IMG20220918161013.jpg

At the entry two huge statues

At the entry this two statue are carved like they are protecting the main cave. After entering into the main cave I saw the beautiful carvings on the wall and its like assembly hall like were all can pray or mediated at that time below are some pictures of main cave.

IMG20220918160758.jpg

IMG20220918160544.jpg

IMG20220918160522.jpg

If you reading the blog till this point then you will definitely like and want to explore this place. Here is some information about the pictures which I took from my mobile.


Picture information


CategoryArchitectural Photography
DeviceOppo F19 Mobile Camera
LensDefault Lens
LocationBorivali, Mumbai, India

I observed one thing while exploring this caves is that our supreme authority should need to arrange the guide or have to schedule some educational tour about such place so everyone will know about this places. As it world heritage site but there is no guide at that place. Second one is they charged multiple times small fees instead of that they need to charged fees at one place so it will little bit convenient for tourist. One message I need to share with you all as I observed at many places in the cave peoples are writing their names with chalks and that was destroying its real beauty so I need promised from everyone that if they visit such place then please never write your name on the wall.

That's it I will see you again with another information post. If you guys like this infotainment then follow me an stayed tune for next post.