Nostalgic Dreams • Vintage Walk in the City

in Photography Lovers2 years ago

2.jpg

cd5e2b86646fa7c804a824560946d605.png

Vintage Walk in the City

Welcome to the 8th episode of our Nostalgic series. In the city where we live there are so many houses and structures from the pre-colonial Spanish era. Structures that are slowly rotting away give us a glimpse of the past. Let me take you along with me and turn back the time in our city.

Nostalgic Dreams

A series to try and replicate old photos from the past. A reimagining of some of my previous and future works, artificially turning back the clock and relive days gone by.

To make the timeline more convincing the theme should not include modern-day items or structures.
Erasing modern-day traces to give a more convincing look from the past.

1.jpg

This old house is just a few houses away from where we live. Almost all the parts of the house are still original and may date back to the early 1900s. Giving it that vintage look has taken it back to its original era.

1.JPG

This is a maternal and medical clinic that has been here for a very long time already. The structure is well maintained and no sign of rotting wood. I removed the car on the left and the motorbike on the right to give it a more authentic feel to it.

2.jpg

5.JPG

Walking on the street on the left side of the medical clinic, you will find this old mansion. Back in the day, I imagine that luxurious parties must have been held here. During its glory days, people passing by must have been amazed at the beauty of this house. I could have tried to repair parts of the house by editing, to try and restore its former glory. Maybe on our next episodes, I may try to do that.

3.jpg

9.JPG

Broken pillars can be fixed thru editing and now I am challenged to try that soon. I could have made this vintage photo more convincing. The painted glass on this window is still beautiful and has stood the test of time.

5.jpg

10.JPG

A very old house that we passed by and I love the old stairs from the Spanish era. I removed the electric wire across the photo but forgot to remove the small telephone box.

4.jpg

12.JPG

As we walked along I noticed this beautiful carving just below the roof of the house. The house is almost crumbling with all the rotting wood. In a few more years probably the house would collapse.

6.jpg

P1590627.JPG

Before the war there used to be a couple of old Spanish churches in our city. If they all survived our city could have been an amazing tourist destination. I am addicted to old church architecture and I could have visited them almost every other day.

I had a hard time removing the post on this photo. I just ended up removing just a portion of it and some power cables.

7.jpg

P1590759.JPG

What is left from this church is the tower and I believe that this church was bombed during WW2. Today it survives like a ghost from the past, plants slowly growing and taking over the structure.

8.jpg

P1590780.JPG

Making this photo look old didn't take too much effort as they didn't do any changes to the tower. It still stands strong and I just wish I could have seen what the original church looked like.

9.jpg

P1590782.JPG

Just below the tower, they placed a photo of the patron saint of the city "Our Lady of Porta Vaga". People still come here to pray and light a candle even though it is just the tower.

10.jpg

P1590785.JPG

That ends our short city tour and I hope you enjoyed what I did to my photos. Taking them back to their original time was quite enjoyable.

If you would like to see more and some of the original photos.

Please free to check out our old post Windows from Days Gone By

Hope to see you again soon as I search for more subjects that I could bring back in time.

Until then keep on shooting and sharing our beautiful world and culture.

ruler.png

All photos are original and taken with

Lumix GX85 and Olympus 45mm f1.8

hive youtube.jpg

Sort:  

Nice vintage presentation. Great comparison of photos.

Took a bit of work on some of those photos but I'm glad you liked it. Thanks.

Excellent Vintage pictures
The maternal and medical clinic is my Favourite, it really gives me that Nostalgia feeling😜
You do so well, Bravo dear Mhel. Been awhile i visited and I'm glad i did❤️

!PIZZA

Hello my friend glad to hear from you. How are things? I also love the clinic as they maintained it well preserving the original look.

Awe, I'm doing well dear Mhel. There's just alot on our plates right now that's make keeping InTouch abit of a challenge. But our hearts at the right place. All good, grateful. Yes it's a beautiful clinic indeed.

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@queenstarr(4/15) tipped @mhel (x1)

You can now send $PIZZA tips in Discord via tip.cc!

An interesting result of aging.
What editor did you do this editing in?

I used Photoshop, adding in old paper, scratches, a bit of vignette and just making the color look right for the era. Thanks for checking 🙂

I like your result. I see the spirit of the times in these photos :)
!invest_vote

Thank you very much I appreciate it. Thanks for the love.

You are welcome 🖐 😊

@bambuka denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@bambuka thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !

I really enjoyed this post. Really interesting and some great work

Thank you very much. I really wish that our city preserved move of the pre colonial houses.