Midjourney V6 vs Photograghy

Greetings friends. I understand there is a little unease with AI models in the photography and art spaces. If you've seen previous posts you will see that I am a videographer/photographer by trade.

However I also really enjoy playing around with the latest tech. I believe that however you currently feel, these tools are here to stay, and rather than demonizing them, I choose to use and play with them.

The most recent release of Midjourney v6 is absolutely blowing me away. These are getting awfully close to realistic and I just wanted to share some photos for those who may be so against AI that they are unaware of how far the tools have come (and will only get better)

So think of this post more as a show-and- tell.

For reference I will lead with a photo of myself vs an AI image I created using that very same "real" photo.

Me
selfme.jpg

This image uses the image above as a base layer and then I added a prompt. The results are absolutely wild
bsprouts_httpsstorage.googleapis.comgen-image-uploads68ad4d34_b66a28e3-8f23-4b4c-8d36-c5c4246821a1_0.png

The following are the top 10 of the most realistic images I have ever created again using Midjourney's newest version 6

bsprouts_a_woman_holding_a_glass_of_champagne_close-up_intens_d8bd4261-decc-4724-a6c7-9f89fb874043_1.png

I mean come on 👀bsprouts_close-up_intensity_in_the_style_of_luminous_shadows__60f5f739-7d82-4a80-9f0b-1e90ffbaa661_0.png

bsprouts_close-up_intensity_in_the_style_of_luminous_shadows__60f5f739-7d82-4a80-9f0b-1e90ffbaa661_1.png

I like to caption these "Models replacing Models"
A play on words with "generative AI Models" replacing "real-world models"

I feel these images could be used for like fragrance ads or something
bsprouts_close-up_intensity_in_the_style_of_luminous_shadows__d2895d7c-b912-49fd-aabe-eed15ec8e0a1_1.png

The eyes are very impressive
bsprouts_close-up_intensity_in_the_style_of_luminous_shadows__d809744a-3250-40aa-9d2a-0dc76efc2b06_2 (1).png

I mean... speaking of eyes
And check out the pores on the skin

It is hard to make a case against young men (once we are able to take these AI images and turn them into avatars) not falling in love with these characters

bsprouts_close-up_intensity_blonde_with_deep_ocean_blue_eyes__65ef24eb-3b64-40bb-8a25-263d539f0161_1.png

bsprouts_close-up_intensity_red_head_with_deep_ocean_blue_eye_f3b4d452-ebb9-436f-9582-323d2f94b73b_2.png

bsprouts_close-up_intensity_red_head_with_deep_ocean_blue_eye_f3b4d452-ebb9-436f-9582-323d2f94b73b_3.png

This image could be a still frame straight from a war movie

bsprouts_close-up_intensity_Alien_but_with_human_deep_ocean_b_7a46ddc7-8d2e-48fb-9a89-8c2559bdb33d_0.png

I don't see any clear giveaways that this image was created with AI
bsprouts_close-up_intensity_football_player_helmet_in_the_sty_1ba85ead-86fd-4b3f-a419-b0d9f1c279b3_3.png

I can only imagine the explosion of images and videos this next era will bring when these quality (and better) images can be created with a few simple clicks.

I am curious how we as a society are going to respond/react/control deep fake photos and videos. I feel blockchains will play an important role along with decentralized ID's. We are going to have to start to pivot to systems that allow people to verify who made what content- or else we are screwed.

As much as I hate how cliche it sounds. This next decade is going to be absolutely insane.

Would love to have open discussion and dialogue in the comments below regarding the topic.

Happy Holiday friends.

Much Love

Andrew

Sort:  

It is amazing what AI is capable of these days and in the coming future. This post fits the requirements for this community... but i would suggest posting your AI art in The Alien Art Hive Community. If you had more photographs as the source of the generative images and it was photography oriented then this community is fine to post this content into. However, it would be better if it's more of a show and tell style to share in the Alien Art Community. Excellent outputs here. I love the aesthetics you were able to generate. I would be curious to see your prompts since you got such good results with the freckles!

I don't know that I would call generative art 'a few simple clicks'. It takes time and effort to get prompts that respond to what you want. I know I make multiple iterations and even prompts before getting the images I want every day. I love generative art but I get really tired of the people who thing it takes 'seconds' to get the images we share.