Marco Photography Insects

There is always a treasure trove of little creatures to be found if you get into macro photography. I find it is one subject that really drives me to always want to capture more and more of. It also helps push the boundaries of skill by trying to get sharp images of things that are both tiny and also moving around. It can help you master your settings, your ability to focus both mentally and with your lens, improve your patience, and help create some very rewarding imagery.

Dragonflies are one of the largest insects you can find, and aphids are one of the smallest. There is no bug to big or to small of a challenge. Finding some spots you can hang around for a little while helps, as you get to really observe and see what types of insects are around you, and it creates a better chance of getting some sharp and in-focus images because you will be in a better spot to observe and react. Moving to quickly can spoil the shot, as many of us know, so I like to take a slow, deliberate approach.

With cameras starting to exceed 40 megapixels, I am finding a new enthusiasm for wanting to capture macros as I get ready to upgrade from my Nikon D750 which served me quite well for about 8 years. I hope when the time comes I can get even closer with more details to these little magnificent creatures.

August 2011-28.JPG

August 2011-109.JPG

DSC_0180.JPG

DSC_0316.JPG

DSC_0374.JPG

DSC_0481.JPG

DSC_0456.JPG

DSC_0486.JPG

Sort:  

Was just looking at your profile, saying it’s hard to succeed on hive. Not that it makes a big difference or anything, but I will put you on my autovoter. You deserve it.

Thanks daveks I really appreciate that. Just feels like much more of a struggle lately, I feel like something changed with Hive recently but cant quite put my finger on it.

Ever thought about adding to your hive stack instead of the powerdown?

Ive thought about it. This is my first time powering down, I figure if things dont get better here I should cash some out and put it towards a new camera. If I come into some extra money I would, so far everything I have here is from earning on posts. I think there are some people with hivewatchers that dont like me so I get currated less and usually dont see mamy posts go over $10 so Im not sure what the limits here are or what I have to do to grow. Maybe if the bull run resumes that might help.

We are on the precipice of bulletin imo. I think that the more “skin in the game” one has with Hive, it shows your dedication, and therefore you are more likely to get curated and you are able to curate more meaningfully yourself. I would also say try and stick with one good post a day.