You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: ⚓The people behind the sails of a tall ship regatta [BLOG + Video]

The fastest yacht is a gaff-rigged cutter (or sloop?) I always thought that was a slower rig but seems to be gaining more popularity again, especially in smaller camping, trailer-sailer boats!
Great post and brilliant photos. Best wishes :-)

Sort:  

hehe, sure not the fastest yacht, if you have a modern yacht with carbon rig or huge sails, they will be faster, but the overwinning is not really a yacht... she is well over 100 years old, so I'd call that traditional sailing vessel

all the best!

Yes, she is gorgeous, I didn't read the title properly, I just saw 'fastest' ! I personally just love the cruise...
here is the little lady I just got my plans for last week. I am itching to start building but it won't be until next year as I have a house to finish first lol !!
https://www.selway-fisher.com/PC1620.htm
I went for Evening Star as I can handle her alone and she isn't too beamy that I can't motor around the UK canal network as well as around the coast and short cross channel hops.
She will however be built here in Thailand so I can learn to sail again properly in the calm and almost wind-free waters around the islands in peace without worrying about getting into trouble!

Yes, she is gorgeous...here is the one I just got my plans for last week. I am itching to start building but it won't be until next year as I have a house to finish first lol !!
https://www.selway-fisher.com/PC1620.htm
I went for Evening Star as I can handle her alone and she isn't too beamy that I can't motor around the UK canal network too!

oh yeah, i can see the appeal, this is perfect for the area you want to sail in! good luck with your journey!