Shooting with Sal..

I've been shooting photography now for a number of years and in that time have enjoyed going to various abandoned locations, urbex you might say, to shoot. One of the closest sites and one of my favourites was a series of buildings at a location called Costhorpe. Unfortunately over the years a lot of these locations that we've visited have been fenced off, demolished completely and transformed into housing estates or factories. Below is a series of images, one of the last visits I had in fact, to Costhorpe. On this occasion I was shooting with a local model called Salski.

I'm actually going to start in the middle of the shoot where the suun was going down and we were losing the light so we started using flash. The red in the below image works really well with the dereliction and waste of the site I felt, juxtaposed with a model in a nice dress in the middle. Both the red of the flash and the blue from the window work for me on this image..

Sal 6.jpg

Below are a series of images that I literally took for fun when I found I could trigger @fastchrisuk 's flash. However with the flash in shot and as monochrome images I felt these really worked, and had an old school arty vibe. I particularly like the one where Sal is mimicking the grotesque graffiti which is also in shot on the wall..

Sal 7.jpg

Sal 4.jpg

Sal 5.jpg

Once the sun had gone too and we were in the dark we then transferred to some backlit images with flash. I do seem to like an image with blue and orange in the shot..

Sal 11.jpg

Sal 9.jpg

Sal 8.jpg

Circling back to the start of the shoot we have some more traditional fashion style shots. I'm coming to find that these shots at the start of a shoot aren't throw away images (Not that I ever thought that) but its where I find my feet on a shoot, and the nerves of shooting with someone, whether its a new model I haven't worked with before, or one where I've shot with them several times before, its where I find myself easing into things..

Sal 3.jpg

Sal 2.jpg

Sal 1.jpg

I may have posted some of these images before, if I have and I've missed them, I apologise. I'm not trying to spam or duplicate images in my posts if possible.

As a photographer I try to mix what I do in my shots, I've done still life, some macro work, lightpainting and I enjoy a good model shoot. If you'd like to check out any of my other work I'm on Facebook, or you can find me on Instagram under neilru75

Thanks very much for looking

Kind Regards, Neil

Sort:  

These are some fantastic shots. I like the artsy vibe too. Beautiful model as well... i am sure she is fun to work with. Thanks for sharing.

Great choice with the color. Love the Light Paintings.