Journey with Me Through the Southern District of Osaka City

in Photography Lovers10 months ago

Hello everyone,

Now that about two years have passed since the height of the pandemic, I believe that things have started to return to normal. I currently reside and work in Osaka, which is the second-largest city in Japan. Lately, we've noticed an increase in the number of tourists visiting our city. Osaka is home to three major and popular areas: Umeda, Namba, and Tennoji. However, in this post, I'll take you on a virtual tour of the less-explored but equally fascinating Shin-Imamiya area.

I recently took a short five-minute bike ride along the railway to Shin-Imamiya. This district is known for its significant homeless population and is often considered unsafe by many locals. However, the Shin-Imamiya area boasts inexpensive guesthouses, making it an appealing destination for budget-conscious travelers.

On my bike ride, I had a close encounter with a tram – a great photo opportunity, indeed!

Just a stone's throw away from the train station lies a hidden gem: Jan Jan Yokocho. This cozy alley, home to affordable eateries and a Japanese cultural experience shop, serves as the link to the Shin-Sekai area.

A must-try local dish in this area is Kushikatsu - deep-fried skewered meat. The prices are quite reasonable, with each skewer starting at 100 JPY. I highly recommend giving it a try if you happen to visit.

Another establishment I endorse is the Taiko Sushi restaurant. Although small, with counter seating for approximately 10-15 patrons, they serve freshly prepared sushi at affordable prices.

Adjacent to the sushi restaurant, you'll find a Japanese archery shop where you can try your hand at this traditional sport - a unique experience to consider when in Japan.

For photography enthusiasts, the Shin-Imamiya area offers several photogenic spots. The Tsutenkaku Tower, in particular, is an iconic symbol of the Shin-Sekai area and a must-see landmark for any visitor. Don't forget to snap a memorable photo here!

I hope you enjoy my post.
Thank you for stopping by my post. If you enjoyed reading it, please upvote & follow me for more posts and photos about life in Japan 🇯🇵 and Thailand 🇹🇭

Sort:  

This is indeed a gritty area, but fun none the less and nothing like a bad area in America. Abeno Harukas is just down the road so you could easily spend a day wandering around, taking in everything. I'd like to go back just to try the archery shop!

Nice pictures. You caught a different side than I did when I was there last year.

For me, this area is not bad, I always spend time around here and down to Tennoji by bicycle. Thank you for stopping by my post.

Love the vintage look and feel of these photographs. So full of history and culture.