Tree Top Falcon (9 photos)

in Photography Lovers2 years ago

Walking by the Deschutes River in Bend, Oregon the other day I was lucky enough to catch some shots of a falcon perched in a tree top.


Click images for larger view

99pyU5Ga1kwr5Xg46gnE3BrdGQcYkevrMfGqYdeMUG2g4qZ8xRgM7yTegQpRUswvwuFYUvdkdNKdSAuiDv6yvstGBVwqQKDx6s2vs6Tf752vm9jyUVEz3m5FxiLBWfgMqY.png

My initial view of him was this angle from behind. I quickly changed lenses to my Tamron 75-300mm zoom. Since I just attached the lens and started shooting to make sure I least got a few shots in case he flew away, this image ended up being quite underexposed. Luckily Lightroom was there to save the day in post processing. 😃


I slowly worked my way around the side of him trying to get some shots from different angles.

At first I totally lost sight of him and thought he had flown off but as I continued to move forward he reappeared between the branches.


Click images for larger view

Finally I was able to get around front to get a few shots.

Again Lightroom was able to help me out some here as the right side of his was heavily shadowed from the position of the bright sunshine.


I took most of these shots at 300mm focal length and was quite pleased with the results. Like this last photo here a lot of my full zoom shots can turn out a little fuzzy and not really crisp and clear. I think the shots from the side ended up being the best of the bunch and I was happy to see that maybe my skills as a photographer were getting a little better. Maybe now I can start to think a little bit about an equipment upgrade. 😉

Please feel free to make comments or ask me any questions about this post.

Photos taken by me, @oldmans, with a Nikon D3300 and some Lightroom post processing.
Please visit Pinmapple to see the locations of some of my other posts.
Thanks for looking and enjoy your day!

My NFT Showroom

My Lensy Gallery

Sort:  

Awesome work 🙌!!! I can imagine you were in a hurry to get a picture before he left 🤯 Am really glad you were able to get some great pictures, what a magnificent bird :) Was this your first falcon?

Thank you! Yeah, I'm always afraid they will fly off before I get a chance to take a shot. I think this guy was pretty used to people walking underneath as he didn't seem to care about us at all. Probably just watching the river for fish. 😀

Was this your first falcon?

Here is a post from New Years day of one in a tree outside where we live. A much taller tree. lol.

So this was your first close look :)


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

This is a beautiful photo, I like the birds 👍