At last! The mystery is now solved.

in Photography Lovers7 months ago (edited)

A great "small Saturday" to all, as we call Wednesdays small Saturdays over here. We could never understand what kind of birds pluck and eat the Pincushion flowers until today.
Here is the culprit.
155.jpg

Nature really knows how to make clowns out of all of us, as I could never figure out what kind of big bird it was that could pluck a big pincushion flower and then eat it. I knew that the ducks, the geese or the peacocks wouldn't eat pincushions, as they were all too heavy to sit up high on a big pincushion bush.

And yet here is a picture below that I took a week ago, that according to me, some big bird plucked and ate on the grass.
165.JPG

But it never was a bird now was it? Watch this squirrel in action.
152.JPG

153.JPG

I moved closer, so he grabbed the flower and slid his way down inside the bush.
157.JPG

And then he skedaddled.
158.JPG

But I am an old hand at ghosting up to little buggers, and the show goes on.
160.JPG

Can it be true? The thought raced through my mind. There was no big bird that ate the pincushions, as this squirrel was the culprit.
161.JPG

Slowly I moved closer to him.
168.JPG

But I got too close, and he decided that he had enough.
170.JPG

That tree was his escape route, and he went up into it as fast as the rockets that the new owner of X sends into space :)
173.JPG

Amazing isn't it. Even more amazing is that squirrels are also pollinators. The seeds of the flowers that they drop will naturally become embedded in the soil and then new pincushion bushes will grow. Squirrels are also gardeners, as they bury nuts, as food for the winter periods and then they forget where they buried the nuts. We had firsthand experience of this, as we used to feed them peanuts in the garden of our previous home, and every spring season, new peanut bushes would pop up all over the show. Of course, we also had quarrels with the neighbors, because peanut bushes would also start to grow in their flower beds. Not only that, but the squirrels also planted avocado tree pips, and imagine an avocado tree popping up in a neighbor's prized rose bed garden :)
But such is life, and I was glad to discover what it is that eats the pincushion flowers. Strangely, they don't eat the red pincushion flowers, only the yellow ones.

I hope that you liked the pictures and the story.

Photos by Zac Smith-All Rights Reserved.

Camera: Canon Powershot SX70HS Bridge camera.

Thank you kindly for supporting this post.

Sort:  

It was fascinating that we can found wisdom in every creature of this earth

Absolutely and in nature one has to look at its residents with a more discerning eye. Pure wisdom.
!BEER


Hey @rak7, here is a little bit of BEER from @papilloncharity for you. Enjoy it!

Did you know that <a href='https://dcity.io/cityyou can use BEER at dCity game to buy cards to rule the world.

Wow my friend, what nice pictures and you captured the squirrel in the best moments, good job.

Thank you and I am glad that I was able to solve the puzzle at last.
!LOL

cute pictures i love squirrels so much i can't get near them

Thank you, and yes, it is not easy to get near them, but I have learned some tricks over time.

Yes, the funny little ones. I have many stories about them. I just love squirrels, little lively and alert.

Great that you also have stories about them, and we also love the cute little critters.

!PIZZA

What a cute pincushion thief. HAHAHA

Oh yeah, caught red handed on the spot and it was great fun to get him. !LOL

You caught it red handed! Haha

Cute squirels, i didnt know they ate flowers too.

Oh yes, I was in the right place at the right time !LOL

The squirrels love flowers and even bird seeds. We also feed them avocado pears and of course nuts. They also eat fruit.

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
@papilloncharity(1/15) tipped @joelai (x2)
papilloncharity tipped xsasj
papilloncharity tipped mandragora88

Such a cute little thing!!

Thanks for popping in milady, and I hope that all is well with you.
I agree, as it's a lovely little critter.

Look what came to eat a snack outside my study window today.

!PIZZA and !LUV

All is well, hope the same to you Zac!
Must be very hungry this fella.

Glad that all is well with you and yes they have much to eat in those gardens.
!PIZZA and !LUV

I really enjoyed seeing your story out here! Such a cute little flower thief

Thank you kindly and I am glad that you enjoyed the post. We have many of them here in the Cape, and we have much fun with them.

!PIZZA and !LOL

You captured the culprit in motion, hehe! I love this.

Yep! caught him in action !LOL

Very cute squirrel, the first photo is of him looking at the camera.

Yep! I think that he wants to start modelling. !LOL

I also go to such beautiful places every day, I also see such beautiful things, but as soon as I try to take pictures, all these things run away, and the butterflies that are there fly away, so they give me Then there is a lot of trouble.

Have you tried to sit still and to wait for all of the things to come closer to you?
When wild animals see movement, especially from humans, then they disappear very quickly.
Have a !BEER for your trouble.


Hey @djbravo, here is a little bit of BEER from @papilloncharity for you. Enjoy it!

We love your support by voting @detlev.witness on HIVE .

Wow, I love that squirrel look.

Thank you and I want to him some sunglasses.
!WINEX

That would be even more interesting.

Hahahah, yes, you are right!