Here he is, the fastest bird in the world.

The Peregrine Falcon can dive down at speeds of +350km on its prey.
282.JPG

I heard a rowdy crowd of Starlings up in a high tree, so I popped around to go and see what upset them.

It was a light and dark day as every time that a cloud blanked out the sun, the sky changed colors, between blue and green. Not easy to take photos, but I waited and grabbed the opportunity when it was offered to me. It was a very high tree that the peregrine falcon sat on, and I have posted two of them on that tree before, so I know the tree well enough to take up a good position to get the falcons on camera.
Come and see.

Just to show you how the clouds covered the sun.
249.JPG

254.JPG

273.JPG

237.JPG

Now, here is the story.

This, below, is the same tree, and you can see the peregrine falcon sitting on a branch at the left of the picture. The noise was coming from the right-hand side of the tree. The tree might look all covered in leaves, but I will show you that it was not so.
294.JPG

See? Those are not leaves. Those are starlings, and they did not like it that the peregrine was sitting on the other side.
296.JPG

You can see them looking up at the peregrine.
304.JPG

But the peregrine would not budge, as it also regards the tree as its own territory. So, eventually, the starlings took off behind the tree and they were gone.
306.JPG

I had then to leave it there, as a fine fairy rain started to descend, and it is not fun to get wet on a cold and windy day. It is always good to allow nature to alert one to what is happening all around.
I have said this a number of times before, but many people do not stop to take the time to really listen, to truly see, to wisely understand all that is going on every second of every day all around them.
I wonder why we do this. We spend copious amounts of time with ourselves and our activities, looking for answers from humans, when the answers come from the Creator and his nature all around us.

I hope you have enjoyed the pictures and the story.

Photos by Zac Smith-All Rights Reserved.

Camera: Canon PowershotSX70HS Bridge camera.

Thank you kindly for supporting this post.

Sort:  

Very good photography results... I like seeing it... how are you, friend?

Hi there, I am well, and hope that you are too. It is great that you also liked the photos.

!PIZZA !LOLZ

Peregrines are badasses. I have been on the side of a cliff in Yosemite and have watched them in full dive mere feet from the rock wall like a bullet and they push their talons forward and grab a swallow from the air at speed. Truly amazing birds.

I bet that you were stunned to see that and now you know how difficult it is to get them in a prey capture strike. Brilliant birds and I adore them.
!BEER

You have to put yourself in the middle of their hunting grounds and the only way to do that is on the side of a cliff. It could be possible with a drone to catch it as long as the falcon doesn't get distracted by the drone. I am the same, I absolutely adore birds of prey. We have bald eagles that nest overlooking our farm every year and it is one of my joys in life hearing them screaming at each other in the wee hours of the morning or seeing them flying overhead as I am in the gardens.

Nah, drones are not for me, as the ultimate would be to get his strike on camera, and you are right. as position is very important.
Wow! I have seen pictures of the bald eagles, and videos of them hunting and they are fascinating. Sadly, we don't have them here in South Africa. I would love to stand there on your farm with my zoom, to get the eagles when they fly over.
Ever heard of the famous African Fish Eagle?
Here's one that I got recently.

!BEER

This is video of my experience saving a young bald eagle

My channel has a few other videos of it. One of the best feelings ever was having that bald eagle pressed against my chest and the feel of its talons clamping onto my hand. It eventually came and said goodbye before leaving.

A wonderful video and it must have been a great occasion. Glad that you also love nature and its residents.

!BEER


Hey @flemingfarm, here is a little bit of BEER from @papilloncharity for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.


Hey @flemingfarm, here is a little bit of BEER from @papilloncharity for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
@papilloncharity(2/15) tipped @mnurhiver

Woah this it, now I KNOW hehe thanks for sharing

Glad that now you know !LOL

I see a full theater here. The starlings watching the performance of Hamlet by the Peregrine Falcon.

Awesome.

I think that I will call the bird Prince Peregrine from now on :)
Thanks and glad that you liked the post.

!BEER


Hey @nanixxx, here is a little bit of BEER from @papilloncharity for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

I was thinking eagle is the fastest

Nope, eagle cannot beat the Peregrine falcon.