In the blue (greenish blue...)

in Photography Lovers7 months ago

At the end of last year, I dipped my toe in underwater photography, during vacations in Cabo Verde. At the time, I used a really crappy borrowed camera; and nevertheless, I still managed to snap some pretty cool photos.

Christmas comes... and the gift from my sister and brother-in-law was a brand new 4k action camera! Not the top of the line Go-Pro, but more than enough for what I wanted it for, which was to be able to capture some underwater moments. And finally, after 10 months... I was able to put it to the test!


20231008_102443.JPG

Location? Sesimbra, the best spot near Lisboa to dive, less than an hour drive away. There, a marine natural park with plenty of diving spots, including a wreck dive, receives the visit of hundreds of divers on a weekly basis.

The weather in Portugal still feels like Summer, and I was hoping for very good diving conditions; it's easier to get your ass out of bed before sunrise when you have good expectations!


20231008_085953.JPG

The sun was shining, the diving company was very well organised (it was my first time with them and it won't probably be the last), and after all the usual preparations, off we go.


20231008_093152.JPG

This is Cabo Espichel, the cape in Sesimbra; our supposed diving spot was very near the cape, but there was one "small" problem: currents, and strong ones! So, quick change of plans, and off to a more sheltered area, near these cool rocks.


20231008_105457.JPG

All these photos were taken with the action camera, hence the typical fish-eye view. I have a ton to learn and probably not the best set-ups in place, but then again, I wan't bringing her along for the panoramic landscape photos: overboard we go!


20231008_101228.JPG

And reality settled in. The water temperature was nice, but strong currents normally mean tons of floating debris as well... and visibility was kind of crap, putting it nicely. So I mainly saw green... and kelp.


20231008_103940.JPG

Tons of kelp.


20231008_102730.JPG


20231008_104532.JPG

My diving buddy showing great technical skills

Being a sucker for wildlife above and below water, I must confess I was a little disappointed with the visibility. Yet, it was great to dive in Sesimbra again, and it was literally YEARS since me and my dive buddy were planning to dive together, so just being able to be underwater in a well organised dive was a win. Plus, even in these conditions and in the hands of a noob photographer, the camera image seems to be pretty good! I can't wait to test it again in good conditions. And I still managed to take a really great photo of one of my favourite nudibranchs (commonly known as sea slugs).


20231008_102045.JPG

How cool are these animals?? Despite the awesome colours, they're pretty small, so it's easy for them to go unnoticed, especially in these diving conditions; so I was really glad to have found one AND being able to capture it on camera.

The other photos weren't that great, but still managed to get some non-blurry non-kelpy ones.


20231008_104011.JPG


20231008_104653.JPG

And of course...


20231008_104257.JPG

A starfish to wrap it up! 🙂

I'm bound to dive (hopefully!) in way better conditions than these; and when I do... you'll probably read about it!

rgazlbwpwi.png

Hive divider by doze.gif

Still haven't joined Splinterlands? In what planet do you live in? Click the banner below and join the fun! (It has my referral link; you can go directly to the website if you don't want to use it; either way... join in! 😎 )

Sort:  

Seems like summer above the surface but fall/winter below 😅 Sea slug shot is worth the trip. Nice.

It was nice below too... just a visibility mess! :)

Manually curated by ewkaw from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Thanks for the support @ewkaw and @qurator!

Amazing photos! 😍

Thank you and thanks for the visit! !BEER


Hey @pero82, here is a little bit of BEER from @pardinus for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

You took beautiful pictures
I wish I knew how to dive but I will be very scared so I'm not sure if I can do it, lol
Kudos!

Thanks. Diving is awesome!