Above The Clouds // The Julian Alps 📸

in Photography Lovers • 2 years ago (edited)

Happy weekend, fellow travellers and nature lovers.

In my today's post I'll share some photos from my recent trip to the mountains. I took advantage of the relatively pleasant November weather and climbed one of the peaks in the Julian Alps in Slovenia - mount Krn - above the sea of clouds.

B7503733-A672-432B-8401-A78E6B7B4F6E (1).JPG

I parked my car at around 700m altitude right below the pastures under a mountain range where the asphalt ends and hiking trails begin. I knew I have about 3 hours to reach the top at 2445m.

I was expecting wind so I was well dressed but after the first climb I was already in short sleeves. The whole valley was still covered in fog while I was basking in the sun on my way upward.

IMG_2260.JPG

IMG_2257.JPG

I met a few hikers on the way already descending from the summit. One of the groups said they began their trip at 4am. And I thought I was early at 7! One of the things I enjoy in the mountains most beside the views is that 90% of the people you meet are super friendly and full of positive energy, everyone greets each other and exchanges a few words. Over these last 2 years it's become almost a rarity.

IMG_2318.jpg

There's a biwak right below the top of the mountain, but it was closed. In the summer you could get a cup of tea here or even sleep over.

IMG_2273.JPG

The views from the top are stunning - you can see the highest Slovenian mountain in the distance with 2864m. I still have that one on my bucket list.

IMG_2288.JPG

On a clear day, you can see all the way to the Adriatic Sea. It's especially beautiful at night, when the lights of the little towns across the northern Italy are lit up in the distance. The fog from the valley started to ascend and the winds were pushing the clouds towards the mountain. It was marvelous to watch.

IMG_2308.jpg

IMG_2317.jpg

IMG_2315.JPG

At this time of the year most of the vegetation here is dried grass, but I was lucky to meet this little blue flower called Gentian.

IMG_2313.JPG

It was quite windy at the top so I didn't stay long. On the way down I reached the clouds so I had the last quarter of the trip in the fog. Not a big deal but the sun was much more pleasant.

IMG_2320.JPG
Remember, there's always sun above the clouds. :)

Sort:  

Absolutely awesome, being above the clouds is an amazing feeling that I have experienced while sitting in a plane. The mountains tend to stop the clouds for a while and that looks like being in a heaven.

You’re so right, with peace and quiet there it really seems like heaven.

Stunning view 🤩 beautiful photos.

Hi penticton,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Awesome, thank you!

Never been above the clouds (except airplane)...
Looks great up there!

Definitely worth the visit, you should try it sometimes :)

It's covered with snow now.
Oh, and it's 2244m above sea level, hehe.

I thought so too, but the sign at the top deceived me :)

exelent 🌹

Glad you like it.

What a stunning perspective! An entire river in the sky!