You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Show Me Around Your Hometown photo contest is over: pick the winners!

in Photography Lovers3 years ago

@kohsamui99 with this entry from Byron Bay, Australia:

LcTxR7u1XKabaf2rRAavg1BccJytdBUSkKWeD9d5NPQj6WfUHTQqHeNSgQ9CRzdRLVwgnuiikCd1wZRdcQEtX1uLdYeeK7DUM8N9bpEBtzfVN6w5bPjU6ZzqnTvA8XMdLYff8cVd11MGCmsr8whzB5Pie.jpg

My home town is Byron Bay, NSW, Australia and today I am not going to show you our famous beaches because I think I have shown you all enough of our beaches that you are all familiar with nor am I going to show you my little town cause there is nothing really interesting to show apart from houses and shops but I am going to show you Cape Byron lighthouse which is our icon of Byron Bay town. The Cape Byron lighthouse was built in 1899 and has been in operation since 1901 when it opened, it is not a real tall lighthouse standing at 22 metre high, the reason been why it wasn't built any taller is because it sits 94 metres above sea level on top of Cape Byron Headland giving it sweeping views all over the Pacific Ocean from up there and shinning all over Byron Bay town. It use to be operated manually by resident keepers in the early years but today it is a automated lighthouse and has gone down as one of Australia's Historical sites.

Sort:  

This is a big lighthouse. I love it!

Love this high point photo.

Very beautiful... I love it😊😊