Charms of the lake Lugano

I got reminded of our trip to Ticino when I saw a poster about a music festival that will be held in summer in Locarno. There will be some cool artists performing at this festival, so I'm trying to convince my husband to go with me. It's not his kind of music, but I hope that we'll go there.

To the point now - Italian part of Switzerland has that kind of charm that you just don't find in any other parts. I must admit that I only visited it a couple of times as it's far away, but I always enjoy coming back.

Today, I will show you around the lake Lugano. There is a long promenade which leads you out of the city and connect you to the Olive tree trail from where you have many trails up the hill or along the river.

1.jpg

When we left home it was cold and rainy, and it was so good to see the blue skies after many weeks of thick grey clouds.

It was the end of the season, so all the sightseeing boats were docked, but I can imagine how lively it is here in summer.

3.jpg

The sunshine was shimmering on the water and we were enjoying the Mediterranean atmosphere before going back home when the winter was about to start.

4.jpg

At the entrance of the Civic park which is surrounding the promenade is the statue of William Tell dating back to the 19th century. The statue was originally placed in another spot, but moved to this location in the middle of the 20th century.

We started our walk early in the morning and I was surprised to see so many people passing by as people from this region don't seem to be early birds. It turned out to be the tourists, of course. I kept waiting for the right moment to take a photo, but it was not coming, so I gave up as these people didn't seem to be in a hurry to leave...

5.jpg

Lugano is a beautiful city, and the nature surrounding it is only emphasizing its beauty...

Look how pretty it is!

2.jpg

I don't even remember how many kilometres we walked, but we had such a good time that we didn't want to turn around and walk back. In the end, we had to take a bus back to the hotel as my hip started to hurt.

5a.jpg

The trees in the park are gigantic. Look at those people on the left - they look like dwarfs.

6.jpg

Some of those mountains are in Switzerland, others in Italy. I was looking at a map for some time, but couldn't figure out which ones belong there, so this information must be enough for you 😊

7.jpg

Villa Ciani is one of a few buildings in the park. It was built in the 19th century and it is used for various exhibitions and celebrations. I could imagine my reception here if I wouldn't be married yet...

8.jpg

Next to the villa is this huge tree. I had to take a separate photo as it was twice the size of the villa. Impressive!

9.jpg

Probably the most important feature of the park is this iron gate. It has an intricate detail, and I can imagine it used to be the gate to the city for boats coming from another places around the lake.

11.jpg

As we came late in the year we didn't see much flowers, but there are many flower beds that must be boosting with colours in the warmer months.

12.jpg

It's like a tradition to place a fountain in a lake in Switzerland. I can't recall a 'city' lake without it...

13.jpg

There are quite a few statues along the promenade. This one is one of the less charming ones 😊

14.jpg

This looks like a fountain, and it would be nice to see it when it's on as I only saw one opening for water...

15a.jpg

This was the most interesting artwork for me. It was reflecting the landscape and reminded me of water.

15.jpg

And more tree spam...

16.jpg

17.jpg

With some ducks...

18.jpg

19.jpg

We also got to the shore...

I think it's the city beach in summer...

20.jpg

This reminds me so much of Mallorcan landscape...

21.jpg

And if you don't think of the mountains in the back this looks like Dutch beaches...

22.jpg

23.jpg

We were getting thirsty, so we headed to a restaurant that we saw from afar. I liked how this bridge was constructed in relation to the buildings and the mountain in the back. It satisfied my love for geometrics.

24.jpg

Yes, we walked with a map 😊 When there is a chance I do prefer the map to the phone as I like marking the places on it and following them. I won't hide the fact that from time to time we need to use the phone if we're not sure though.

25.jpg

The view from the restaurant was not too bad...

26.jpg

We had a great time in Lugano and I hope to go there again soon.

See you next time...

Sort:  

Nádhera! Ta úvodní fotka je jak z Chorvatska nebo Řecka, neskutečné, jak je to jezero čisté! Tam musí být v létě fakt natřískáno :)

Aspoň dneska nemusím řešit, kam vyklopit Tipáky :D Hezký víkend tobě i Stefanovi!

@tipu curate 7

Je tam fakt krásne, veľa ľudí tam chodí aj namiesto k moru...

Ďakujem, Stefan je práve na ceste z Holandska 😊

Love how art and nature are mixed in a single place and post. Literally two big passions of mine living together, nice! :)

Then it would be a great place for you to visit 😊

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Nice photos

This is a very picturesque place. Everywhere you look the views are stunning. Nicely done!

image.png

Thank you! 😊

Hiya, @ybanezkim26 here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Top 3 in Travel Digest #2207.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

What a great place for vacation. You caught the ambience very well in the photos and everybody who sees it, wants to be there.
!ALIVE

@plantfuljourney! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @ chaosmagic23. (1/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want, plus you can win Hive Power (2x 50 HP) and Alive Power (2x 500 AP) delegations (4 weeks), and Ecency Points (4x 50 EP), in our chat every day.

Thanks a lot!

Beautiful nature photo 🤩🤩🤩

Loading...