Anosmia, the hidden disability

in Photography Lovers3 years ago

While I am at it... Why not share with you another small series that I created as school-assignment? This time it is one showing life as an anosmic (a person that has no sense of smell). Without being able to smell anything, I am blind to some things that seem evident to others. It can turn into funny, but also dangerous situations and I have experienced all in my life....

It was clear that I wanted to make a series about this part of my life. But how do you capture something as invisible as smell? I started listing situations and slowly they turned into visual mini-stories.

I believe "art" shouldn't be explained too much, so I'll leave the exact interpretation to you. And who knows... maybe this will not be a finite series!

_DSC8399.jpg

_DSC8367.jpg

_DSC8494.jpg

Want to learn more about anosmia? Read an old post I wrote about it.

Sort:  

My Nana couldn't smell either. I always thought it was the oddest thing. She had a beautifully fragrant wisteria just outside her door as as a kid I was so shocked when she said she couldn't smell it.

that's so funny... I have a wisteria in my garden. Just for the fullness and color of it. Poor Nana, but I bet her fantasy helped her create an imaginary smell around the flowers.

Fun to learn more about you. I guess more people can understand you now.

Congratulations @r00sj3! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 44000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 45000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - July 1st 2021 - Hive Power Delegation