Getting over my fear of photographing people....

in Photography Lovers3 years ago

_DSC2094_1.jpg

This photography school is turning into an enormous therapy session. If you scroll through my portfolio, you will learn that most of my photos have a close to zero number of people in them.

People would always look weird in my photos, somehow. And naturally, I told myself that was all my own fault. I wasn't capable of photographing people. Thankfully, I wasn't very sad about it anyway. Apart from having to put extra effort (pre-covid) into making sure, there were 0 people in my photos.

_DSC2196.jpg

A few weeks ago, we had a studio lesson about portrait lighting. One of my friends volunteered to be a practice model. There were 3 setups available: rembrandt lighting, butterfly lighting, and glamour lighting. I started with the butterfly lighting and spend most of the time just focussing on the symmetry of the shadow in the face and forgetting to actually search for an image.

It wasn't until we got to the glamour lighting that I was able to relax a little. We became more playful in this space and thanks to my model's amazing acting skills I got a whole bunch of fun photos.

_DSC2106.jpg

What I found most important about this lesson, was that my model-friend enjoyed her day and was happy to come model again whenever I needed someone. At home, it was time to learn how I had failed at some shots. A whole lot of rejected photos ended up in the bin. But There were also a couple of fun ones. And just that small amount of photos is enough for me to build a little bit of confidence in photographing humans...

All I can say to myself after this day was: "Not bad for a first try!"

Sort:  

These are awesome. You captured her personality perfectly with these.

Thank you, that means a lot!! :)

Not bad?? These are great! Your model looks really comfortable with you. It's super commendable to be able to hold that kind of space for the person you are working with.

Aren't we all our worst critics? Thank you :) And yes, after getting a little used to eachother in this setting, it just became about having fun together...

these turn out great

Thank you :)

Excellent work, photographing people is not always an easy job, but it is easier when both (photographer and model) feel comfortable with each other! Greetings and success.

Thank you! And yeah... that helped a lot! :D

Congratulations @r00sj3! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 30000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 35000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Tour Update - Account creation and Account Recovery steps
Hive Tour Update - Decentralized blacklists and Mutes lists
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!