Spooky medieval castle, or was it?

in Photography Lovers2 years ago

_DSC2640.jpg

I just had the most amazing experience possible during covid times! For one of my school assignments, I started looking for accommodations in buildings that are part of the Dutch Water Line. This is an ingenious water-based defensive plan that the Dutch implemented in the 17th century. The idea was to flood low-lying areas to defend against enemy troops. It was too shallow for boats and too deep to quickly move through on foot. It turned out very successful in combination with bunkers and fortresses.

And I managed to book a room at one of these fortresses: Loevestein Castle. This castle is most famous for the escape of Hugo de Groot/Hugo Grotius by hiding in a book chest. But I wasn't there for that story.

_DSC2661.jpg

_DSC2611.jpg

_DSC2590.jpg

I arrived there after dark. Before you get to the castle, you have to drive through a bit of a natural park. It was super foggy and pitch black. I had no idea where I was going!

According to the directions I had to park near the castle and then call. In the middle of nowhere, I found a parking lot that was completely empty and I called to make sure I was in the right spot. Fortunately, there was also a parking lot for guests closer to the castle. The host sounded very friendly, so this was all going to turn out fine.

I checked into my room in one of the old soldier houses and learned that I was the only guest that evening. I was free to wander around and the next day I could visit the museum and a tour of the castle.

After getting something to eat, It was time to stretch my legs and see if I could take some photos.

Who knew...

I was having a great time. I REALLY was alone. While walking alongside the moat, all I would hear were birds and my own footsteps. The fog became thicker and thicker and I realized this was an ideal situation to run into a ghost or two.

Thankfully, the path was beautifully lit so I could see where I was going. And the light was also pretty useful when I wanted to photograph some structures/trees that I found during my walk.

After walking around and photographing for like an hour or two... I knew for sure that I wanted to come back here. I felt amazing and I never really had this eerie feeling you would expect being alone in an area like this, under these circumstances. No... I felt at home and was super excited about the photos that I had taken.

I slept like a baby that evening.

_DSC2621.jpg
A row of soldier housing on the castle grounds

_DSC2659.jpg
Spooky trees in the fog along the moat

_DSC2593.jpg
If it wasn't for these lights... I would have fallen into the water

_DSC2598.jpg
More trees in the dark

Sort:  

OMG! I can really feel Halloween vibes in these photos. I'm glad you were brave enough to continue exploring the place despite the spooky surroundings. It was paid off by amazing photos 😍 I wish I also have the guts like you! 😆

Congratulations @r00sj3! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 66000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 67000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Merry Christmas - Challenge Feedback - Win a 1000 HP delegation
Christmas Challenge - Offer a gift to to your friends
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Dear @r00sj3,

The current HiveBuzz proposal will expire in a few days.

Do you mind supporting our proposal for 2022 so our team can continue its work next year?
You can do it on Peakd, ecency,

Hive.blog / https://wallet.hive.blog/proposals
or using HiveSigner.
https://peakd.com/me/proposals/199

Thank you. We wish you a Happy New Year!

Nice view 👍

Hey @r00sj3 where are you? I hope this crepy castle didn't kidnap you. Looking forward to seeing new photos from you.