Beautiful flowers out and about

in Photography Lovers2 years ago (edited)

It's a scorching, overcast, and humid day here in the UK; much too hot for my fatigue to be out of the house with the camera. So here are some of my favourite flower shots I've taken in the past.

I found this Iris after a rain storm at Center Parcs' Elveden Forest. Droplets of water on plants make for an interesting detail that enhances the overall composition.

Photo of a Blue Iris taken at Center Parcs Elveden Forest

KeyValue
Photographer@richardslater
F-Stopf/1.9
Focal Length6.81mm
Exposure1/1900 sec
ISO42
CameraGoogle Pixel 6 Pro
LensPixel 6 Pro Back Camera
TakenTuesday, 31 May 2022 14:28

This photo was taken at a Garden Center near my home; I loved the simple blooms and the repeating pattern, beautiful flowers:

Numerous Black-eyed Susans

KeyValue
Photographer@richardslater
F-Stopf/8
Focal Length55mm
Exposure1/250 sec
ISO360
CameraNikon D5300
LensNikkor 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6
TakenSunday, 01 September 2019 11:08

I took this in the spring this year on one of my many walks; at the time, it was approaching sunset, and the light of the sun was golden enough to make these flower heads glow:

A low-angle shallow depth of field shot of a wild buttercup

KeyValue
Photographer@richardslater
F-Stopf/2.2
Focal Length50mm
Exposure1/500 sec
ISO100
CameraSony A6600
LensSigma 50mm f/1.4 Art DG HSM
TakenSunday, 27 March 2022 18:49

I took this while away at Spring Harvest at Butlin's Skegness Resort. I was in a wheelchair because of the Long-Covid. However, that let me get some nice lower angle shots than I would have standing up.

A low-angle shot of a single red tulip

KeyValue
Photographer@richardslater
F-Stopf/5
Focal Length50mm
Exposure1/500 sec
ISO100
CameraSony A6600
LensSigma 50mm f/1.4 Art DG HSM
TakenWednesday, 13 April 2022 12:00

I think many people, like me, detest this plant. It has a habit of ruining borders and lawns and is persistently hard to eliminate. There is a simple beauty to the yellow flower heads, though.

A high-angle view of a dandelion flower head

KeyValue
Photographer@richardslater
F-Stopf/2.5
Focal Length50mm
Exposure1/4000 sec
ISO100
CameraSony A6600
LensSigma 50mm f/1.4 Art DG HSM
TakenWednesday, 20 April 2022 14:05

I'm not sure where I found this flower, likely another one of my walks. But the colourful blooms paired with a shallow depth of field created a nice effect in the lens.

A high-angle shallow depth of field compound flower head made up of many hot pink flower heads

KeyValue
Photographer@richardslater
F-Stopf/2.5
Focal Length50mm
Exposure1/4000 sec
ISO100
CameraSony A6600
LensSigma 50mm f/1.4 Art DG HSM
TakenWednesday, 20 April 2022 14:11

These Snapdragons (Antirrhinum) come up in my garden every year. In theory, Snapdragons are annuals, but some survive a mild winter and self-seed readily. They are a beautiful plant with lots of showy blooms:

A view of a Yellow Snapdragon stalk from a low angle looking up to the sky

KeyValue
Photographer@richardslater
F-Stopf/2.8
Focal Length50mm
Exposure1/3200 sec
ISO100
CameraSony A6600
LensSigma 50mm f/1.4 Art DG HSM
TakenThursday, 05 May 2022 15:04

I hope you managed to stay cool today if you are in Europe, and I hope you enjoyed the photos. If I have earned a follow, vote, or a tip, I thank you for your support.

Sort:  

Hi @richardslater,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am

Nice set of images, I really like the Iris one. Probably about my favorite flower.

It's such a varied and delicate flower I could spend weeks on them, especially with a macro lens.

Great images. Impressed with the Google phone cam, not sure I would have picked up on it being a phone image without reading your text

It's part of the reason I bought that phone; it has a 50MP sensor - albeit one significantly smaller than APS-C or even Micro4/3. The camera is only let down by the fact the lens is so tiny. I think it's a fantastic way for Google to sell more storage space as the images take up much room when synced into Google Drive! Thanks for your thoughtful comment :)

Beatifull closets, hope some day can take photos with that quality

Keep practising, share your work with others, study photographs you like and seek feedback from everyone. Every photographer knew nothing once; it's a fantastic and rewarding journey.