6 years of my life - 6 years sailing [Video & Blog]

A guy from saxony became a sailor


image.png

I never had anything to do with water or the sea's other that my dad was born in Wismar (at the east German northsea). Grown up in Saxony, I was as far away from sea as some whales from land. Due to circumstances I went sailing at the age of 33 and after this I changed my life to become a sailor.

image.png

Six years later I look back to a lot of adventures, hard and good times. Meeting fabulous people, very selfish people, sweet persons and everything in between. At the end, boats are alive because of the people on them. Without us, they are just a piece of wood, steel or fiber glass. We as human give things purpose and nature gives us purpose.

A few impressions: ships I have been sailing on or with.

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

The fight with nature, the feeling you have while traveling, the exploration of your self and our vessel of transportation are a thrill in life not a lot of people can experience. Unfortunately, sailing is a elite sport and will always be because of the circumstances how everything works. You need to spend a lot of time and money to sail the world BUT if you want something, you will achieve something.

A few of the people I meet along the way:

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

Regardless if you want to be a great content creator, a poet, a singer or what ever it might be there are a few things that will lead you to your goal: Passion, Struggle and Love.

I had all of them and a lot more and still I feel the choice to go sailing was a good one.

Here is my art in motion

I hope you enjoy my a few words and the video!

Please visit my webpage ricpicks.de for more photos and content. Please give this post some love! <3

p.s. I do appreciate all critique - please give me your input!

Sort:  

My wife and I got our "sailing license" (not sure about the English term) last year. Doubt we are going on a trip like this any time soon, but damn... That's appealing :D

These are some epic shots. I love the black and white headshots too.

thanks a lot!