⚓ 7 magnificent sailing vessels

Since I take a lot of photos of boats (in order to sell them) I have quite the collection.

Today I share some of them with you! We are still amazed about the quantity of ships sailing around in Dutch waters... Stunning, Fast and in good shape... Traditional sailing in the Netherlands! These are all charter vessels, so you are able to book them!

image.png

We lay in the harbor of Terschelling, Netherlands and it was raining hard. I knew that if it would stop everything would look like a mirror and as soon as this happened I ran outside and took this photo. You see the "Jantje", the "Avatar" and the "Josina Elisabeth".

image.png

As you see, with 3 mast you have a lot of sail area but even then, if there is no wind, you can go no where. I think this ship is called the "Grootforst".

image.png

This is the Conviance. A small but capable sailing vessel. We were neighbours in all harbors a lot of times so I have plenty of photos from her. I guess the color is a matter of tast :)

image.png

And another shoot of the Conviace.

image.png

The "Jantje" came into service on 17 April 1930 as a fishing cutter. In 1976 Harry and Marian Müter buy the ship. They've been contemplating for years and want to convert it into a sailing ship. After years of diligent labour, the sailing schooner brig Jantje makes her first day trips in 1986 and sails to the Channel Islands for the first time a year after. And she is still sailing =)

image.png

The "Isis" is one of the fast traditional 2 mast clippers in the Netherlands. Always a sight so see here and sometimes even to over take here.

image.png

If that photo is not looking Dutch to you than I don't know. I took this photo in Groningen where some ships of the fleet park over the winter. Her name is Anna-Catarina. A lot of ships are named after daughters or wife's and so she is.

Please visit my webpage ricpicks.de for more awesome photos and content.

Sort:  

Fantastic photos, I really love these old sailing vessels!

Manually curated by ackhoo from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Nice post and fine photos.

thank you !

Awesome shots. I would love to own a boat like these one day.

yeah me too- haha