Photography Lovers End of Year Contest

Hello Everyone, and a special thanks to @derangedvisions for hosting this contest. For anyone wondering, the announcement and rules can be found here.

2021 has been a tough year for me and my family, much like so many other families across the world. At the same time, it has been a year of opportunity and many new beautiful experiences and memories. Among other things due to our many hikes, and me getting my first real camera and really getting into photography.

I still consider myself an amateur, but sometimes I get a lucky shot. Here are my favorites from this year:

1. "Cloud Poke Peaks" Churfirsten, Switzerland, September 2021

 " " \"2021-09-12 'Cloud Poke Peaks 1' - 1600W.jpg\"""

Taken during the "Alp & Kulturweg Schrina" hiking route in St. Gallen, and one of my favorite pictures to date.

The gods of weather had chosen to shroud our tour in fog/clouds, which took away nothing from the beauty of the region but rather added a mystical mood to the wonderful highland region at the feet of the Churfirsten peaks.

The hike itself was lovely, even without the panoramic views you would normally get. For me, it was the second time. For my wife, the first. I had already been here before and did a slightly different route including a via ferrata section. Interestingly, we come here almost exactly a year later, without planning it as such.

2. "Schienfluh Kap" - Partnun, Switzerland/Austria, October 2021

 " "2021-10-02 'Schijenfluh Kap 2' - 1600W.jpg""

Taken during the Schijenfluh Umrundung hike in Graubünden, also one of my favorites, obviously.

The Austrian portion of our hike was a bit cooler (because in the shade of the mountain) and a lot more windy than expected, so we were glad to be back in the light, fleeting as it may have been, and out of the wind.

As a bonus, the Swiss highlands around Partnun looked amazing in the soft autumn evening light, despite, or perhaps because of their bleak, cragged nature.

3. "Glarus Valley Sunset" - Mettmen/Schwanden, Switzerland, September 2021

 "2021-09-24 'Glarus Valley Sunset 2' - 1600W.jpg"

Taken during the Kärpfbrugg Rundweg hike in Glarus.

Glarus city (capital of Glarus canton, part of Switzerland) nestled between Rautispitz and Schilt mountains, as seen from the descent from Mettmen as part of the modified (longer, without cable car) Kärpfbrugg Rundweg trail.

Awesome trail! Lots of fantastic views and experiences were had, not in the least due to skipping the cable car. It may not have the single most fantastic views, or the most interesting path, but we collected more lovely impressions here than on most other routes. Just good feelings all around.

4. "Paraglider over Paradise" - Ennetbühl, Switzerland, November 2021

 "2021-11-12 'Paraglider over Paradise' - 1600W.jpg"

Taken during the Ofenloch Weg hike in St. Gallen and Appenzell.

A race against the clock, a tragically forgotten backpack, close encounters with panicked wildlife and scary dogs, overwhelming views and underwhelming main attractions - This hike had it all!

(I started late and had to catch the last bus at the finish line unless I wanted to walk back all the way at night, or hail an extremely expensive taxi. The main attraction of the hike, the rock formation called "oven hole" was not really all that interesting, but the rest of the route offered some fantastic views and good feelings.)

This view of the slightly foggy Toggenburg landscape with the Churfirsten mountain range in the back and a paraglider flying over it is among my favorite impressions of that hike.

5. "Suspicious Cows" - Hundwiler Höhi, Switzerland, June 2021

 "2021-06-15 'Suspicious Cows' - 1600W.jpg"

Taken during the "Hundwiler Höhi" hike in Appenzell.

These cows know something. That is all I will say on the matter.

6. Electric Countryside - Samstagern, Switzerland, October 2021

 "2021-10-10 'Electric Countryside' - 1600W.jpg"

Every Rule has an exception, as this last entry was not taken during a hike (gasp!), but rather on the way home from one.

Driving home after our Roggenstock hike in Schwyz, the sunset had bathed the landscape near Samstagern in such a beautiful light that we simply had to stop the car, take some pictures before the moment passes, and then relax and enjoy the ultra romantic view.

I had my doubts over whether the pictures would come out well, but I really like how they turned out and the whole industrial-country fusion thing they've got going on.

aaand that was it from me. There are many more pictures from 2021 I love and with which I associate fond memories, but these six are my favorites. I hope you enjoy them :)

Sort:  

These were really enjoyable! Great photos and thanks for sharing the experiences with us here in the community!

Thank you, I'm glad you liked them :)