Driftless Images : February on the Mississippi River

PXL_20210224_200558908.jpg

I made it a goal this year to get outside and take more photographs of the area I live in. Known to some as the Driftless Area, I've lived in the area for some time now, and have always meant to better document some of the geographies of the region. Why not start something fun for 2021?

PXL_20210224_200718221.jpg

The river is finally beginning to break up; once spring arrives, the barges will be on the main channel non-stop

PXL_20210224_200633531.jpg

I snuck out of work to visit the river around mid-day; 40 F temperatures made the adventure that much more enjoyable.

PXL_20210224_200623057 1.jpg


PXL_20210224_200708022 1.jpg


PXL_20210224_200614472.jpg

My goal is to continue to get a set out here once a week; we all like goals, right? Well I do, and so far so good for 2021.

#MississippiRiver #driftless #wisconsin

Sort:  

Cold but nice. I'd like to see that for myself someday...Snow and ice is a novelty to most Aussies. :)

And this is the best time to see it...lots of melting beginning to occur. Ice breaking apart upon the rivers and lakes. Life slowly creeping back into the area...it is pretty cool As much as I dread those -25F wind chill days, I must say those cold/windy days make me appreciate spring that much more.

I'd love it man...Although I'd probably not have the clothing for it...I'd have to opt for 27 layers!

Haha - layers are definitely the way to go! I think if I were in your climate right now, I'd melt away into an Irish puddle

Yes, that is a possibility...Although, there's always a pub nearby in Australia and the beer is cold! You'll be right.

thank you for taking me there

You are very welcome! I'm going to try to keep this up and attempt to get a post at least once a week regarding the area.

Thank you , Much Appreciated

That looks fantastic! It makes me miss the northern prairies winters, for sure, despite that there's no mighty river like that in Alberta. Awesome!

Thanks ! The northern prairie winters are cold, but they do make for some beautiful scenes. As for the river itself, if I could retire on my crypto (ok, I'll admit it - I want all of us to reitre on our crypto!), I would spend days exploring that river from beginning to end to catalog and document it. So much history and geography to see and observe...some day.