Lighthouse Revisited

Hail to the Hive!

About a month ago I did a black and white post of this lighthouse while launching the drone from the restaurant car park where we had been eating. I was a little frustrated as I couldn’t understand why the drone was on a restricted setting for altitude and distance, it was a borrowed drone.

FD4F8302-C1F4-4943-9781-7524598E5887.jpeg

I have since figured out the rather obvious error I had made and when we revisited the same restaurant tonight, for my sister in law’s birthday, I took the opportunity to re visit the lighthouse with the drone!

0E072BF9-6E65-46AB-BD47-06BCA0136602.jpeg

I should have tsken a photo of the big grin on my face as I managed effortlessly to fly the little bird where I could not reach before and the imagery was amazing.
1E00F84E-6A5F-4A6B-B71E-16467CAAB976.jpeg

The greens, the blues, the sunlight was all in my favour and seemed so much more glorious than the previous visit, or maybe it was my imagination due to the joy of being able to reach so much further.
CD1F4E83-9904-421C-B04D-8ED50128ADB1.jpeg

It is truly staggering the images you can capture with these machines. It really blows my mind, so easy to control, so small, excellent quality and affordable. What’s not to love. Yeah ok they do sound like a big mosquito but hey, you can’t have everything.

4222F28D-EA01-4871-AB13-D1523540F2D4.jpeg

To cap it all off the meal at the restaurant (spicy Jamaican Oxtail) was mouthwateringly delicious 🤤 and washed down with copious amounts of ice cold Red Stripe beer.

964378B1-4716-40B1-90F0-9E54EB217B23.jpeg

Drones, food, beer.

5DDCB920-FA23-4436-B1FD-25818562782D.jpeg

How’s that for a slice of fried gold?

SHGIF.gif

NEON.gif

Sort:  

The aerial photos are amazing, it makes perfect photography

So much fun too :)

Interesting... as I understand drone licensing in the US, unless you register with FAA, you can only fly restricted height. Where are you?

In Jamaica. 120 meters or approx 400ft altitude is the limit here which I was under. The restrictions I had previously were in the settings of the drone not the laws. I couldn’t fly very far away from where I was either which was odd as I’d set them before take off. Seems it kept engaging ‘payload’ mode which limited me to 30m altitude and I can’t remember distance but not very far. I figured out how to access the setting immediately after take off and remove it. All good now. Range and height make for some sweet images now

I've been working towards my FAA 107, which allows me more height, and basically is an unmanned pilot's license

In the UK theres a basic online test to take for drone license ( and a small fee of course) then you’re good to go but they have altitude restrictions still

the only altitude restrictions you have with the FAA 107 is the same as any airline pilot over certain cities, airports, etc.

Wow cool. Up up and awayyyyyyy!

What do you need to do for the FAA 107?

study hard, pass an FAA test. then, you can legally sell images taken from a drone. AND, can get hired to run a drone, for pay.

Message me, if you are interested in more

ahhh, Jamaica.