You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: In The World Of Sculptures

Vince Bocskai - Trace of the Cross is my favorite. I too love the wood sculptures. I have heard of sculptors looking at a block of stone and seeing patterns and textures that determine what they will make. I have never thought of wood the same way - until now. The texture and especially the wood grain are beautiful in these works.

Sort:  

Vince Bocskai - Trace of the Cross is my favorite. I too love the wood sculptures.

Those are truly amazing. I've never seen anything similar so far.

I have heard of sculptors looking at a block of stone and seeing patterns and textures that determine what they will make. I have never thought of wood the same way - until now. The texture and especially the wood grain are beautiful in these works.

That is true. My dad has a sculptor friend, who likes to use roots as well and he said the wood gives the idea and determines what it's going to be. Like speaks to the artist and the artist is just executing what mother nature started.