“People Will Stare. Make it Worth Their While” – Harry Winston. || Jewellery Collection Exhibition 1/2

in Photography Lovers2 months ago (edited)

podwojne pioro zlote gradient.png

I don't feel competent to talk about jewellery. I don't wear any myself. I can't start a post with 'like any woman I like diamonds'. No I don't. Carbon takes so many forms. The admiration for this particular stone has always amused me. To me, privately it looks like a nicely polished glass. I work with Swarovski 'crystals on a daily basis (not literally, I use their digital form in costume designs) and I don't think I'll ever understand the awe of this form of 'beauty’.

gold gradient pojedyncze pioro.png

But! Sometimes, there is jewellery that catches even my eye for longer. This is also what happened last time at the Ulster Museum. The jewellery collection I am presenting to you today (in two parts, due to the overwhelming amount of photos) is part of the permanent exhibition there. And perhaps this is mainly why I never looked at it any closer. A colossal mistake on my part! The craftsmanship and attention to detail in these designs deserves a longer moment to be given to them.

gold gradient pojedyncze pioro.png

The oldest small and larger pieces of exquisite jewellery on show date back to the 16th century! What attracts me most about historic jewellery is its undeniable durability. The choice of materials as well as the perfect binders that will allow such a work of art to last for hundreds of years is undoubtedly admirable.

The precision of the workmanship makes me envy the makers their infinite patience in practising such a difficult and demanding craft. The very fact that we need a magnifying glass to appreciate all the details of these 'trinkets' seems to me a sufficient argument for which the jewellers works deserve admiration.

gold gradient pojedyncze pioro.png

What is most striking is how trends have changed over the centuries. Fashion played an important role in the selection of certain types or colours of stones as well as the size of the jewellery itself.

podwojne pioro zlote gradient.png

Tastes changed, as did the materials used in jewelery makeing. Not only gold or diamonds! We find onyx (often used to make so-called cameo), coral or even horn. Fashion is not guided by the quality or durability of materials. Therefore, jewellery dictated by trends gets 'old' quickly and ceases to impress after time like restrained, cool classics. At least – in my humble opinion

Which jewels have impressed you the most?

podwojne pioro zlote gradient.png

Hope you will have a lovely week!
Yours,
Strega Azure

SEPARATOR DIAMENT GOLD.png

1.jpg

SEPARATOR DIAMENT GOLD.png

99999 (1).jpg

SEPARATOR DIAMENT GRAFIT.png

1 (1).jpg

SEPARATOR DIAMENT GOLD.png

2 (3).jpg

SEPARATOR DIAMENT GRAFIT.png

1.jpg

SEPARATOR DIAMENT GOLD.png

3 (2).jpg

SEPARATOR DIAMENT GRAFIT.png

3 (1).jpg

SEPARATOR DIAMENT GOLD.png

4 (1).jpg

SEPARATOR DIAMENT GRAFIT.png

4 (2).jpg

SEPARATOR DIAMENT GOLD.png

5.jpg

SEPARATOR DIAMENT GRAFIT.png

SEPARATOR DIAMENT GOLD.png

6 (2).jpg

SEPARATOR DIAMENT GRAFIT.png

6 (1).jpg

SEPARATOR DIAMENT GOLD.png

7 (1).jpg

SEPARATOR DIAMENT GRAFIT.png

SEPARATOR DIAMENT GOLD.png

SEPARATOR DIAMENT GRAFIT.png

SEPARATOR DIAMENT GRAFIT.png

SEPARATOR DIAMENT GRAFIT.png

SEPARATOR DIAMENT GRAFIT.png

SEPARATOR DIAMENT GRAFIT.png

SEPARATOR DIAMENT GRAFIT.png

SEPARATOR DIAMENT GRAFIT.png

SEPARATOR DIAMENT GRAFIT.png

SEPARATOR DIAMENT GRAFIT.png

SEPARATOR DIAMENT GRAFIT.png

SEPARATOR DIAMENT GRAFIT.png

SEPARATOR DIAMENT GRAFIT.png

SEPARATOR DIAMENT GRAFIT.png

SEPARATOR DIAMENT GRAFIT.png

SEPARATOR DIAMENT GRAFIT.png

SEPARATOR DIAMENT GRAFIT.png

SEPARATOR DIAMENT GRAFIT.png

SEPARATOR DIAMENT GRAFIT.png

SEPARATOR DIAMENT GRAFIT.png

SEPARATOR DIAMENT GRAFIT.png

SEPARATOR DIAMENT GRAFIT.png

SEPARATOR DIAMENT GRAFIT.png

SEPARATOR DIAMENT GRAFIT.png

SEPARATOR DIAMENT GRAFIT.png

SEPARATOR DIAMENT GRAFIT.png

SEPARATOR DIAMENT GRAFIT.png

SEPARATOR DIAMENT GRAFIT.png

SEPARATOR DIAMENT GRAFIT.png

SEPARATOR DIAMENT GRAFIT.png

SEPARATOR DIAMENT GRAFIT.png

SEPARATOR DIAMENT GRAFIT.png

SEPARATOR DIAMENT GRAFIT.png

SEPARATOR DIAMENT GRAFIT.png

SEPARATOR DIAMENT GRAFIT.png

SEPARATOR DIAMENT GRAFIT.png

SEPARATOR DIAMENT GRAFIT.png

SEPARATOR DIAMENT GRAFIT.png

SEPARATOR DIAMENT GRAFIT.png

SEPARATOR DIAMENT GRAFIT.png

SEPARATOR DIAMENT GOLD.png

SEPARATOR DIAMENT GOLD.png

All pictures are my authorship if not stated otherwise.

All rights reserved @strega.azure ©

hive gold.png

Stopka-druga-proba.jpg

published via Ecency

Sort:  

These are so exquisite. The fact that they've been around for such a long time makes it incredible.

Glad you like it! I agree, it seem to be impossible that work of human hands can last for such a long time! Thank you for popping by!

I don't wear any earrings now, but when I was young I got them pierced. It was less common for men to wear earrings then. But I only mention this because the first studs I got were Onyx and it's always been one of my favorite stones ever since. Lapis Lazuli is also awesome.

You captured some amazing craftsmanship in these priceless works of art. Thanks for sharing.

I still have holes, that remind me that once I was into piercing too! Though pieces of surgical steel or titanium I was wearing hard to called a real jewellery:)

Onyx is great. I like that people call it often precious stone, when it is just a mineral. But pretty uncommon one!

I am glad you like my selection, part two is coming soon!

Manually curated by ewkaw from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Congratulations @strega.azure! Your post brought a smile to the TravelFeed team so we have sent you a smiley. Keep up the good job. 🙂

Thanks for using TravelFeed!
@for91days (TravelFeed team)

PS: TravelFeed is in social media to reach more people, follow us on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter.

I am glad you've found my post interesting:) Cheers!

Congratulations, your post has been added to the TravelFeed Map! 🎉🥳🌴

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to TravelFeed Map
  • Click the create pin button
  • Drag the marker to where your post should be. Zoom in if needed or use the search bar (top right).
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (any Hive frontend)
  • Or login with Hive Keychain or Hivesigner and click "create post" to post to Hive directly from TravelFeed
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!
PS: You can import your previous Pinmapple posts to the TravelFeed map.
map
Opt Out

Congratulations, your post has been added to WorldMapPin! 🎉

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to WorldMapPin
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Hi @strega.azure,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am