A winter Wednesday Walk

A winter Wednesday Walk

This post if for Wednesday walk challenge And Make me Smile Collaboration challenge, initially our collaboration was once a month but due to the popularity of it we have decided to make the collab a weekly thing :)

Any questions about the challenge read the guide at the Bottom of the post ;)

For this weeks walk post I am sharing some photos I took on an early morning walk around Fort Tabor here in New Bedford.


ww fort taber snow-1.jpg


Sony A7iv 17mm F11 10.6 ISO 100
Click here to view larger


It was fairly cool the morning I took this walk, but after the very cold days we have had recently 25F didn't seem to bad and I wanted to get out for a walk after the blizzard while snow was still around, my original plan was to go to one of the beaches, but there was no where safe to park near any of them so I checked out Fort Tabor Park, the car Park had bene cleared, but there was a lot of black ice so walking out of the car park was tricky and slippery but for most of the rest of the walk it wasn't to bad.
I didn't venture out on the pier as it was well covered with snow

Every week a new theme is announced which suits to the actual season. At the moment we are having the Winter Hunt and this week's theme is:

FROSTY-ICY
https://ecency.com/hive-190931/@barbara-orenya/season-hunt-challenge-the-theme)


ww fort taber snow-2.jpg

Sony A7iv 17mm F11 1/6second ISO 100
Click here to view larger



I was pleasantly surprised to see most of the walking paths around the park had been cleared of snow, great for people who like to go there for walking and exercise, but that said I was the only one walking there that morning


ww fort taber snow-3.jpg

Sony A7iv 17mm F11 1/4 ISO 100
Click here to view larger



It was a gray Moody morning, but it felt good to be out getting fresh air


ww fort taber snow-4.jpg

Sony A7iv 28mm F11 1/5 ISO 100
Click here to view larger


But some parts of the path, the snow had melted a little and then frozen but it you paid attention to where you were walking and didn't step on the ice it was fine


ww fort taber snow-5.jpg

Sony A7iv 17mm F11 1/5 ISO 100
Click here to view larger



As the first shot shows I did walk on the beach, most of the photos from there has a Mono feel to them, maybe that may lead to a natures Mono Monday post ;)

As you can see a lot of the beach was covered with snow forming into ice and floating out on the water.


ww fort taber snow-7.jpg

Sony A7iv 28mm F8 1/50 ISO 100
Click here to view larger


Weekly giveaway of shares

This week I am sending to the following who joined Wednesday Walk, for this week I did a random draw and the following each received some Hive @fotostef, @cmplxty, @decentropia, @trollsmcduff and @traisto

And @elizacheng will send to @practicaleric


As @elizacheng and I collaborated with our Wednesday Walk and Make me Smile Challenges

And one person is randomly drawn who joins both challenges to receive one Hive from me and this week it is @TBA

Wednesday Walk is a challenge started by me, the idea is to get out for a short walk and get some shots of what you can see within a short distance of your home office or wherever you start. And this is my entry for this week, but first, let me explain the challenge.

This is my post for the Wednesday Walk challenge hosted by myself, let me first explain the guidelines

Try and get out once a week for a short walk, can be from your office, home or anywhere really and walk for a few blocks or a few minutes looking for things to get shots of.

Your walk does not have to be on a Wednesday I just ask if possible to share your walk photos on a Wednesday.

Try and get a few shots not just one

Add a bit of a write up about where you walked

Just one Wednesday Walk tagged post a week

You can look for anything in general or decide on one subject you want to get shots off.

Make a point of looking around and up and see what you can find to get shots of that otherwise you may miss

Do a post with the shots you get on a Wednesday and tag it with #wednesdaywalk, also if you happen to join, please leave a link to your post in a comment on this post and I will try and visit them all, especially if its not one of the first 5 tags or I may miss seeing it .

Following me and re-Hiving the post so more see it would be appreciated but isn't a rule just a suggestion.

I am not strict on these rules and hence why they are called guidelines and not rules

I will try and visit, and upvote all who take part in the Wednesday Walk.

Make me Smile Collaboration

As I mentioned above Wednesday Walk is collaborating with the [Make Me Smile] hosted by @elizacheng,

Here are the rules for her challenge

Your post can be writing, singing, video, poem,drawing, photography etc.... the most important part is your post Make me" smile, Remember, the ME is whoever read/view/listen to your post and this includes YOURSELF.
b. Your content must be ORIGINAL CONTENT
c. Please include at least 50 Words in your post

I hope a few of you may find this an interesting challenge and decide to join in.


unless stated otherwise all photos used in my posts are taken and owned by myself, if you wish to use any of my images please contact me.

Wednesday walk footer.jpg



TEAMUSA JJ hive.jpg

Teamusa is a Community for and supporting those from of in the United States, and now is in the process of rebuilding stronger than ever join us on Discord



tatooddj.png

thealliance_tattoodjay.pn?update=true


!pinmapple 41.595524 lat -70.902749 long Fort Taber New Bedford MA d3scr

Sort:  

Oh I love these views - the white landscape and a dark and moody sky above - just beautiful 🤩


Cheers with !PIZZA and !BEER or !WINE
!invest_vote

Thanks so much my friend I hope your week is going well

!PIZZA and !BEER - sounds like a nice dinner :)
!invest_vote

My pleasure, JJ, thanks, half week is done 😃


Cheers with !PIZZA and !BEER
!invest_vote

Indeed it is hump day

!PIZZA and !BEER - sounds like a nice dinner :)
!invest_vote

Ah, yes I forgot that you call it hump day and I think I have heard of Tuesday called hump day eve 😁 !LOLZ


!PIZZA and !BEER - sounds like a nice dinner :)
!invest_vote

Yeah the middle of the week hence hump day it’s heading down to the weekend now

!PIZZA and !BEER - sounds like a nice dinner :)
!invest_vote

Yep, only two days left till the weekend 😁
I don't think that we have a special name for Wednesday.


Cheers with !PIZZA and !BEER
!invest_vote

@johannpiber denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@johannpiber thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !

@tattoodjay denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@tattoodjay thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !

@johannpiber denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@johannpiber thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !

@tattoodjay denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@tattoodjay thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !

@johannpiber denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@johannpiber thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !


Congratulations, @johannpiber You Successfully Shared 0.100 WINEX With @tattoodjay.
You Earned 0.100 WINEX As Curation Reward.
You Utilized 1/3 Successful Calls.

wine_logo


Contact Us : WINEX Token Discord Channel
WINEX Current Market Price : 0.050


Swap Your Hive <=> Swap.Hive With Industry Lowest Fee (0.1%) : Click This Link
Read Latest Updates Or Contact Us

@tattoodjay denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@tattoodjay thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.


Hey @tattoodjay, here is a little bit of BEER from @pixresteemer for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Thanks kindly your support is appreciated

Have a great day

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

That’s awesome thank you! I appreciate it!

Some nice photos you got there, I’ve been meaning to get out and hit the beach in these crazy temps! I haven’t been able to yet but maybe before the winter is over. Hoping the temps in the 40’s that we have for these few days isn’t a tease and it goes back to single digits hahaha.

The split path pic is awesome!

I wasn't sure what people would think of the split path Image I loved it so nice to get some feedback on that one

With the weather, who knows what we will get, these warmer temps and rain have washed away a lot of the snow, but like you say that coule be just a tease

wow ,this place is really nice.i love this winter.

Thanks kindly your support is appreciated

Have a great day

Walking in the snow and ice can be tricky, especially in the frosty mornings - and the beauty of the dau would escape you.

The path is endless when you are walking in snow, until the fork in the road, which lends itself to a poetic wandering. Lovely frosty shots and beach is gorgeous out of of its normal sand infused elements.

Happy WednesdayWalk!

I was very careful on recent walks I have had enough falls for this winter especially with a new camera I am extra cautious :)

Thanks for the visit

Thick snow there covered the beach sand. It's very interesting to dive there :)

Thanks kindly your support is appreciated

Have a great day

You're welcome @tattoodjay, How are you today?

I am doing good thanks, how are you

Good. I'm fine too, friend

👍🙂👍

You really did do an awesome job of capturing the beauty of winter.

Thanks kindly your support is appreciated as always
I dont get out as much over winter, but try to get out at least once a week :)

Have a great day

how beautiful

Thanks kindly your support is appreciated

Have a great day

Your photos are as beautiful as ever. All the best!
My walk today

Thanks kindly your support is appreciated
thanks also for dropping your link here
Have a great day

Beautiful winter. Good photos 🥰

Thanks kindly your support is appreciated

Have a great day

@johannpiber denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@johannpiber thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !

Hi @tattoodjay, that was a cold but great ride.
24.jpg
Thanks for sharing.

Thanks kindly your support is appreciated

Have a great day

Great photographs @tattoodjay 😊 it looks pretty cool the paths free from the snow and the rest still covered. Interesting photos it gives.
I can imagine it can be tricky to walk around after the icy conditions. It was well worth it to go on this walk.

Thanks so much, I did enjoy this walk after not getting out for a few days it was very refreshing

I can imagine if you haven’t really been out because of bad weather. Then this is special, refreshing to say the least 😉

Absolutely

we've lost most of our snow, still spots here and there in the shade, but the beach and shoreline is pretty snow free just now, I wonder how long it will last? @tattoodjay

We still have spots of snow incluyhalf our backyard but with a couple of warm days I think it will mostly be gone

But as you say who knows for how long

PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@johannpiber(10/15) tipped @tattoodjay (x4)
tattoodjay tipped johannpiber (x2)

Please vote for pizza.witness!

I've never seen a snow in real life before except for the ones I see on the Internet and tv hehe.
Nice beautiful shots of the snow.
Here's my entry for the challenge.

https://peakd.com/hive-155530/@jessicaossom/wednesday-walk-center-of-excellence

Trust me after the first snowfall which looks pretty but then the novelty wears off lol

Thanks for sharing your link

Hi @tattoodjay,
My post : My Wednesday Walk “El Torcal de Antequera, Spain”

And a question: do we need to post the original post in the WednesdayWalk community or are crossposts also allowed?

Thanks for sharing the link

And no you don’t have to post in the community
Now don’t laugh at me I forgot to post in the community this week and had to cross post it myself

And in fact you don’t even have to cross post if you use the wednesdaywalk tag I will find it 👍

You are welcome @tattoodjay.
Ok, thanks for the explanation, helps a lot. Funny that you forgot it. I saw your post in the Photography Lovers group, so I thought let’s ask. 😊
Lots of ways you find our posts then… lots of work too. Seems like more and more are joining 😎

I did curse myself for doing that lol
And yes each week more and more are joining I never thought it would get this popular

Oepsie… lol 😂
It’s great, and so much fun reading and looking at all the posts. It is a perfect topic to join for everybody.

Thanks for the support

You are welcome 😊

Looks kinda slippery xD

Ohh in places it was very slippery

I love pathways that seem to end nowhere, or at least you don't see the end!
Like... what surprise awaits you in the end... kindda thing.
I will post tomorrow as it is my metals day, and my article is scheduled!

No problem posting tomorrow
I to like paths that don’t seem to end in an image makes mage mind wonder where it goes even if you have been there lol

Wow! This looks like seriously cold weather! Yet, it is so beautiful at the same time!

It was a bit chilly when I took this walk but was the nicest day of the week so I went for it

Wow...lol! You say it was a bit "chilly" at 25F. We read our temperature in Celcius and that will be almost -4C!

If our minimum temperature in winter reaches 14C (which will be about 58F for you), we think it's freezing and we look like Eskimo's...lol!

Johannesburg has cold weather compared to us. They might go down to below 0C sometimes, maybe -3C to -4C. But we have much warmer (more tropical-like) weather here in Durban. We think it's "dooms-day" when it gets that cold...lol!

its all a matter of perspective, where i grew up in NZ the worst we got was down to 0C over night sometimes and a frost, no snow or sub freezing temps, the first time I experiences a real Winter in Bosnia Herzegovina my body was in shock and yes indeed I felt like an Eskimo LOL

One option when we retired was to move somewhere warmer like Florida or Arizona, but then we would not see the grandkids much at all so we put up with the winters

I can totally understand that your body went into shock. But it is true what you say about perspective...we do "climatize" when we spend some time in a certain area.

I remember when we moved down from Johannesburg to Durban, it was in the middle of winter. I walked around with a T-shirt on and I thought there is something wrong with the other guys wearing thick jackets. By the next winter, I was also wearing thick jackets, same as the other guys...lol.

One option when we retired was to move somewhere warmer like Florida or Arizona, but then we would not see the grandkids much at all so we put up with the winters

That makes perfect sense. I can associate with that. We would also do anything to be close to our kids and grandkids!

Indeed
And it’s funny I said yesterday to someone at the start of winter 45F seems so cold
Now it seems quite nice lol

Hahaha...I hear you!

Thank you very much for the tip!
Happy Wednesday :)

Most welcome
Have a great day

Wow, nice winter ice photography. Our country has no fallen this type of ice.

Thanks kindly your support is appreciated

The snow is beautiful initially but soon you get sick of it and the cold

Have a great day

Oh wow, I was shivering just looking at those pictures! Beautiful shots! 🥰 I hope you are well 😀

It was a little cool on that walk
Thanks and yes I am doing well
I hope all is well with you

Thank you so much for your support, highly appreciated!
Your photos are amazing!

great for people who like to go there for walking and exercise, but that said I was the only one walking there that morning.

Haha! I guess it needs a lot of courage to walk there so early in the morning :)

In summer I often see others waking not many so it’s still peaceful but in winter less people are out and about

Most welcome and have a great day

Hey! Nice photos! I have some this week as well. Here it is:
https://ecency.com/hive-163772/@mengao/morrison-pond-san-diego-en

Thank you
Thanks also for dropping your link here will visit it shortly

Those are some awesome photos. It is funny, but I know exactly what you are talking about when you say the weather was nice. My wife and I were at a funeral today and despite the occasion the sun was out and although it was still below freezing out, it was a really beautiful day. This looks like a great walk. I like that they have the paths cleared off!

Thank you
And yeah it’s funny at the start of winter 45 degree day seems so cold now it feels like a nice day

All a matter of perspective

Great pictures as always, and as long as you are warmly dressed, it looks like a wonderful place to walk and get the blood flowing, atleast thirty minutes a day is all you need. Thank you for sharing and enjoy Thursday ahead :}

I must admit in winter I don’t always get 30 minutes walking each day but I try and do my best

Just looking at the photos makes me feel cold ! Good shots of a cloudy morning .

Thanks kindly
It was a bit cool that morning but nit as it had been in recent days

Wonderful snow pictures, @tattoodjay. That's great that you were able to get out and capture the wonderland that the blizzard left for you. I love the picture of the chunks of floating snow and ice, with the ducks just beyond.

I hadn't heard of the Season Hunt Challenge. I'm checking that out. How fun. Looks like I missed it for this week.

Here's my Wednesday Walk post: https://peakd.com/hive-193552/@jayna/actifit-jayna-20220210t060004981z. Thanks for hosting!

Thanks so much it was good to get out
Today isn’t to bad either so I may be heading out shortly

I missed the season hint challenge this week well to be honest not sure I have ever joined it but I should pay more attention to the topics and try to join sometime

Thanks for sharing your link

Although it was a gray day the snowy scenes were quite stunning!
Must have been quite a blizzard you had!
I have a #WednesdayWalk post for you this week at: https://peakd.com/hive-106444/@porters/wednesday-walk-birdlife-around-the-feeder

Thanks so much
Thanks also fir sharing your link here

Have a great day

Thanks kindly your support is appreciated
!LUV some !BEER now and again
Have a great day

Thanks kindly your support is appreciated

Have a great day