Birds feeding

Birds feeding

Good Morning I hope life is treating you well

For todays post I am sharing a few shots of birds either having caught fish or other food or eating what they have caught but I will start with a bit of a preamble.

Each day before I head out for a photo walk, I think about where I am going and what lenses to take in my camera bag.
I pretty much always carry my two as I like to call them walk around lenses, a pair of Tamrons one 17-28MM and one 28-75mm both can go down to an aperture of F2.8 so good handy lenses to have with me most of the places I head for my walks, and then I normally take one other lens, I can if needed squeeze two more lens into my bag but then it gets a bit heavy so I normally stick with just one more.
and which one depends on where I am going for some spots I may feel my 11 MM wide angle semi fish eye lens is handy to have, other times if there are flowers nearby I may take my Macro 90mm lens.
and other times if I think there is a chance to catch birds and I dont want to take my big 200mm-600MM lens which is fairly heavy and I only take that out when I am going to get shots of birds, I taken my tamron 50-400 lens which is fairly light and handy to have as the shots in this post may show.

All of these shots were taken after sunrise or before sunset when I was out for walks taking shots of the sunrise or sunset over the water, and I saw these birds and switched to the 400mm lens and got these shots

First of this Osprey on top of a power pole across from West beach here in new Bedford


birds feeding.jpg

Sony A7iv 400mm F8 1/640 Sec ISO 125
Click here to view larger


I could not make out what it was eating


birds feeding-2.jpg

Sony A7iv 400mm F8 1/640 Sec ISO 125
Click here to view larger



But he stayed there for a while and I was able to get a few shots of it


birds feeding-3.jpg

Sony A7iv 400mm F8 1/320 Sec ISO 125
Click here to view larger


one last one


birds feeding-4.jpg

Sony A7iv 400mm F8 1/320 Sec ISO 125
Click here to view larger


I forget what these birds are called but they fly so fast getting shots of them is a real challenge


birds feeding-5.jpg

Sony A7iv 400mm F6.3 1/3200 Sec ISO 1600
Click here to view larger


but i got a couple of shots i thought were OK


birds feeding-6.jpg

Sony A7iv 400mm F6.3 1/3200 Sec ISO 2000
Click here to view larger


and Finishing off with another Osprey or perhaps the same one, and yes thats not food he is carrying but bits to help build up their nest


birds feeding-7.jpg

Sony A7iv 378mm F6.3 1/3200 Sec ISO 1600
Click here to view larger


And that’s all folks


unless stated otherwise all photos used in my posts are taken and owned by myself, if you wish to use any of my images please contact me.



TEAMUSA JJ hive.jpg

TeamUSA is a Community for and supporting those from of in the United States, and now is in the process of rebuilding stronger than ever join us on Discord


Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!


Hey @tattoodjay, here is a little bit of BEER from @pixresteemer for you. Enjoy it!

We love your support by voting @detlev.witness on HIVE .

Congratulations @tattoodjay! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You published more than 3400 posts.
Your next target is to reach 3500 posts.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out our last posts:

Our Hive Power Delegations to the December PUM Winners
Feedback from the January Hive Power Up Day
Announcing the Winners of HiveBuzz's Yearly Author Badge for 2023!

Wow, those talons look absolutely nasty! Nice shots! The bird with the fish in its mouth is really quite graceful!

Ohh yeah thats what I noticed those Talons wouldnt want it after me
that little bird was graceful and so fats hard to catch shots of

Hello dear friend @tattoodjay good morning
You have great photographic equipment, the best thing that can happen to you when you love taking photographs is to have several lenses to vary according to the occasion
I love seeing the birds at feeding time. Beautiful photographs, I appreciate you sharing with us.
Have a wonderful day

yes indeed I am fortunate to have bene able to afford to build up a collection of lens not cheap but great for photography

Amazing 🥰🥰

Osprey shots are awesome. Gull with fish is good also. I've been considering a 600mm lens for quite awhile but haven't made the plunge.

thanks and for a lens one only uses occassionally it is a lot of money

Those are some great shots! Especially when they're flying! Beautiful! I love birds of prey.

Thanks kindly your support is appreciated

Have a great day

Awesome bird captures @tattoodjay.
The way the sun is hitting the osprey made for some breathtaking shots, and that bird with the fish in its mouth looks quite large.

thanks, the bird with the fish is actually fairly small and so fats was real hard to get shots of it

Being that it's small and fast speaks volumes for your skill in tracing and capturing the photographs 👍

👍🙂👍

What great shots! It was a real successful photo hunt!

Thanks kindly your support is appreciated

Have a great day

Cheers and !BEER


Hey @pixresteemer, here is a little bit of BEER from @tattoodjay for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.