Its Monday again time for some Mono images

Its Monday again time for some Mono images

Now I have bene asked a couple of times whether I shoot my Black and White or Mono shots on camera in Mono or edit them to mono on the computer, So let me start this post by answering that.

I take all my photos in RAW mode, well almost all if shooting an event where I know I will take a ton of photos and want to quickly edit them and share I may use jpg mode, but since I haven't done any events this year I can safely say at the moment I can say I always shoot in RAW Mode, which means the capture captures all the information of the photo but does no editing.

I then edit the photos to my liking using lightroom and photoshop, and for which shots I choose to go with a mono edit, as I scroll through my photos I see some that I think may work in a Mono edit and give it a try, such as this first image, where i kind of liked it in Mono


Mono random.jpg

Sony A7iii 87mm F8 1/250 Sec ISO 800
Click here to view larger


But I wasn't sure so I did a color edit as well which is the next shot


Mono random-2.jpg

Sony A7iii 87mm F8 1/250 Sec ISO 800
Click here to view larger



and this is a case where I really am not sure which one I prefer Mono or color so sharing them both.

Would love your thoughts which do you prefer?

Some other shots I come across just call out to me for a mono edit Such as this next one, taken with my 11mm Ultra wide angle lens which gives the curvy effect on the plants at the sides, IN color it was a so so shot but i love the moody feel of this edit


Mono random-4.jpg

Sony A7iii 11mm 1/200 Sec ISO 100
Click here to view larger


And sometimes I do a mono edit and think it just doesn't stand out in any way and needs a splash of color such as this next shot


Mono random-5.jpg

Sony A7iii 28mm F8 1/125 Sec ISO 160
Click here to view larger


And a last shot with no real thought process I just liked it in Mono :)


Mono random-3.jpg

Sony A7iii 75mm F4.5 1/400 Sec ISO 100
Click here to view larger


And that’s all folks


unless stated otherwise all photos used in my posts are taken and owned by myself, if you wish to use any of my images please contact me.



TEAMUSA JJ hive.jpg

TeamUSA is a Community for and supporting those from of in the United States, and now is in the process of rebuilding stronger than ever join us on Discord


!pinmapple 41.682940 lat -70.907057 long Acushnet Sawmill d3scr

Sort:  

I like your mono edits, JJ, and I prefer the first photo in mono, although the grass looks quite nice in the colour version.

Just like you, I shoot always in RAW and decide later if an image might look good in mono, but some photos I shoot already with a mono edit in mind.


Cheers with !PIZZA and !BEER
!invest_vote

Thanks for your feedback, seems we are similar in this regard

!PIZZA and !BEER - sounds like a nice dinner :)
!invest_vote

Yep, I also think so 😊


!PIZZA and !BEER - sounds like a nice dinner :)
!invest_vote

@johannpiber denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@johannpiber thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !

@tattoodjay denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@tattoodjay thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !

Tufts of grass growing on top of wooden pole in mono really shows each blade. Wide angle lens another nice touch in mono.

!LUV

Thanks so Much

!LUV some !BEER now and again

Have a great day

Have a great week and thanks for tips in photography.


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Wonderful outdoor pictures, @tattoodjay. They feel so relaxing.

Thanks kindly your support is appreciated

Have a great day

PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
tattoodjay tipped johannpiber (x1)
lxsxl tipped tattoodjay (x1)
tattoodjay tipped lxsxl (x1)
tattoodjay tipped pixresteemer (x1)
@johannpiber(11/15) tipped @tattoodjay (x2)

Please vote for pizza.witness!

That third photo is like portal to another world! I also like the splash of green in the following photo. It definitely adds to the photo. Sometimes one can overdo it with editing and it takes away from the magic of capturing a moment in time, but this addition was beautiful!

Thanks, thats totally the feel I had for that second photo and why I did not straighten it

Thanks for your feedback truly appreciated

There are some photos that just look natural and amazing in black and white. The third photo is amazing.

Thanks so much for the feedback

Have a great day

I like the first one much better in color :) ... However your edits are making me want to experiment with the gradient more when I work with Apophysis.

Thanks kindly your support is appreciated

Have a great day

Wow!! These are some really impressive shots 👌

Thanks kindly your support is appreciated

Have a great day

@johannpiber denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@johannpiber thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !

I live the mono shot and for me I think I still need to learn how to use the lightroom in editing well because it seems am a novice somehow using it

Lightroom is great but very tricky to learn just learn a little at a time

I will get to understand it well soonest

👍🙂👍

🤞🤞🤞

I very much like all your mono photos!
In this batch most especially.
The last one is so interesting in mono!

Thanks for your feedback
I hope your week is going well

It's the start of the week, and it couldn't be better!
Too busy though.

Well I hope its busy in a good way :)

Beautyfull photography

Thanks kindly your support is appreciated

Have a great day

oh my gosh!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

that third photo!!!!!!!!!!!! the edit is so beautiful!!!!!! oh JJ... you outdid yourself on that one.

its like looking into a secret world.
its so so so beautiful. I'm in awe of it :)

Thanks I love that one as well a cool surreal feel to it

Ps I got my act together and got a team together

hahahaha nice!!!! Im' seeing some of the teams starting to post for today hehehehe loving what i see - but really enjoying the team aspect!

Ill have to figure out a way to incorporate this for the future hehehehe

I get the impression they like the team idea
A few messaged me felt bad having to tell some my team was full

hehehe just tell them to go ask around in the tester team :) all the blue names (except for guilty, foxon and jharvis) hehehe

but they can just ask anybody in the tester team room that has a blue name LOL

Will do if anyone else asks

!PIZZA and !BEER - sounds like a nice dinner :)

Thanks kindly your support is appreciated

!PIZZA and !BEER - sounds like a nice dinner :)
!invest_vote
Have a great day

@tattoodjay denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@tattoodjay thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !