Mono in the museum

Mono in the museum

I am going to keep with my Monday habit of sharing monotone images, this week from a visit
to the Rotch Jones Duff house Museum here in New Bedford, I have done a couple of posts last year for Market Friday posts of some of the displays in the museum, but I had a few images I never edited or including in this post and I thought they would work well for a mono post

Starting with a shot in the lower level as you enter the house and start walking around and exploring the Museum


mono in the museum.jpg

Sony A7iv 20mm F8 1/125 Sec ISO 8000
Click here to view larger


A little bit about the property

The William Rotch Jr. House, now the Rotch–Jones–Duff House and Garden Museum, is a National Historic Landmark at 396 County Street in New Bedford, Massachusetts, in the United States. The three families whose names are attached to it were all closely tied to the city's nineteenth-century dominance of the whaling industry. Because of this, the house is part of the New Bedford Whaling National Historical Park.
Richard Upjohn built the house in the Greek Revival architectural style for William Rotch Jr. in 1834, on a New Bedford plot Rotch had inherited from his father. It was Upjohn's first house, near the beginning of a long career. Rotch also commissioned a garden in the rear, which later owners would significantly expand. The property remained private until 1981, when it was bought by local preservationists and reopened as a historic house museum. It was declared a National Historic Landmark and added to the National Register of Historic Places in 2005. Today the museum educates visitors not only about whaling but, through its gardens and associated programs for local schools, about the environment as well.

Now I have shared this info in a previous post so I guess I should quote myself as a source so here is the source

there wasn't a lot of light in the museum so all of these shots are with fairly high ISO mostly around 8000 pretty happy how they came out without too much noise
A couple of ladies hats, and the old style hat pins, they always look quite dangerous to me


mono in the museum-2.jpg

Sony A7iv 25mm F8 1/50 Sec ISO 8000
Click here to view larger


This doll with its age and wear and tear, felt a little creepy to me, and those eyes I felt they were staring at me the whole time I was in the room it was displayed


mono in the museum-3.jpg

Sony A7iii 28mm F8 1/80 Sec ISO 8000
Click here to view larger


I had a great Aunt when I was growing up who had one of these foot action sewing machines, hers was a Singer if I remember correctly, but my Aunty sitting and pumping her legs and sewing is the memory that came to mind when I saw this


mono in the museum-4.jpg

Sony A7iii 22mm F5.6 1/250 Sec ISO 5000
Click here to view larger


an old style pair of scissors


mono in the museum-5.jpg

Sony A7iii 24mm F4.5 1/200 Sec ISO 8000
Click here to view larger


And a Quill pen, I don't think I have ever used one myself, but I do remember a friend who was into Calligraphy and had a few of them, and said they were still very much in use by Calligraphers
My written is like chicken scratching in the sand with a pen or pencil I dread what it would belike if I used a quill.
that said when I was in High School at one stage I broke all the fingers on my right hand, and hence had to write left handed and after a few days my writing with my left was better than my right handed writing ever was, and the teacher wanted me to stay writing with my left hand, but once my right hand was healed I went back to it, and you may wonder why

I think it goes back to when I was in primary school, naturally being ambidextrous I would do some things right handed and some left handed, and I still remember an old Nun wrapping my knuckles with a wooden ruler saying writing left handed was a sign of the Devil.
Now I don't believe that at all, but I guess the being wrapped over the knuckles a few times at that age, imbedded the habit in my mind to write with my right hand.


mono in the museum-6.jpg

Sony A7iii 27mm F4.5 1/250 Sec ISO 8000
Click here to view larger


And that’s all folks


unless stated otherwise all photos used in my posts are taken and owned by myself, if you wish to use any of my images please contact me.



TEAMUSA JJ hive.jpg

TeamUSA is a Community for and supporting those from of in the United States, and now is in the process of rebuilding stronger than ever join us on Discord


!pinmapple 41.631022 lat -70.928994 long Rotch Jones Duff house New Bedford MA d3scr

Sort:  

These old things look best in monochrome in my eyes. These are some lovely photos, JJ. My grandmother had such a Singer sewing machine and I think it must still be somewhere on the attic.


!BEER and !WINE - both make a nice dinner with !PIZZA :)
!invest_vote

I bet it’s probably worth a lot these days

!PIZZA and !BEER - sounds like a nice dinner :)
!invest_vote

I have no idea but it belongs to the family anyway 🙂


!PIZZA and !BEER - sounds like a nice dinner :)
!invest_vote

@johannpiber denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@johannpiber thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !


Congratulations, @johannpiber You Successfully Shared 0.100 WINEX With @tattoodjay.
You Earned 0.100 WINEX As Curation Reward.
You Utilized 1/3 Successful Calls.

wine_logo


Contact Us : WINEX Token Discord Channel
WINEX Current Market Price : 0.300


Swap Your Hive <=> Swap.Hive With Industry Lowest Fee (0.1%) : Click This Link
Read Latest Updates Or Contact Us

@tattoodjay denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@tattoodjay thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !

The first photo reminds me of a corridor from the Layers of Fear horror video game. That would perfectly fit into that game. The third photo with the doll would also be good in a horror game or in a horror movie.

Thanks kindly your support is appreciated
Yes some of these images would fit well in a horror movie :)
Have a great day

Beautiful these photos in monochrome, the scissors are really unique, never seen a pair of scissors like this before

Thanks and aren’t they so interesting


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!


Hey @tattoodjay, here is a little bit of BEER from @pixresteemer for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Thanks kindly your support is appreciated

Have a great day

The doll actually looks creepy but at the same time beautiful.

All the images are creative and beautiful too. Thanks for sharing with us.

Thanks kindly your support is appreciated
yeah the doll is kind of funny it gives mixed feeling when viewing it

Have a great day

Thank you

Most welcome

Creative pictures 📸

Thanks kindly your support is appreciated

Have a great day

Very nice Ideas i Love that old school pict !!

Thanks kindly your support is appreciated

Have a great day

Same to you stay safe ✌️

Thank you :)

Wow lovely shots as always, keep up the good work @tattoodjay

Thanks kindly your support is appreciated

Have a great day

It's really nice to visit the museum because a lot of old school things can be found. That old sewing machine and doll looks like in some horror movies. By the way, if you see the ISO to 8000, it means it's really dark there?

I do love visiting museums like this
and yes in parts of the museum there wasnt much light as it was a grey day outside, so hence the high iso

It never stops amazing me that people would say things like "your writing is a sign of the devil" lolol what is wrong with these people?!?

As far as the pictures .... They are all exquisite! But that first one is SO beautiful!!!! The glow from the light streaking across the wood and the pictures....so so beautiful!!!!

Love it!

Thanks for the visit, and yeah the old school Nuns had some strange ideas, when I was in school some still thought being left handed or ambidextrous was strange, but hey in my case they are probably right i have always been strange LOL

Thanks for the feedback your always so kind :)

I've been missing you..and life..hehehhee

But things should get a bit more normal soon!!! Hoping mom had a great night...heading over there now

I have bene missing you and thinking and praying for your Mum and you, was great to read good news yesterday

Yes lets hope she had a good night

Yes!!!! We were in dire need of some good news hehehe

Well I am keeping her in my prayers 🙂

Que guapo y tetrico a la vez!!!

Thanks kindly your support is appreciated

Have a great day

when i see this doll i think of dolls in horror movies. but this doll is awesome

Thanks kindly your support is appreciated
The dolls are cool a pity Horror movies have made us think some look scary
Have a great day

Thoroughly enjoyed the photos, they are all so beautifully taken!! I agree on the doll, it does look creepy to me too lol!

Thanks kindly your support is appreciated
Maybe we have just seen to many scary dolls in Movies LOL
Have a great day

Museum is amazing, I love the angle and the clarity. Stunning photography dear @tattoodjay
I was absent for a few days because I went to visit a village house. 😄

Thanks kindly your support is appreciated

Have a great day

Are you actually left handed? Nothing wrong with left handed people. My wife and many great people are.

I am ambidextrous some things I do left handed some right handed

And some things I use one or the other without thinking about it

Wow that’s pretty amazing how people can do that. I’m a little bit ambidextrous but not with writing. If I try it’s so hard. I can use a mouse for my computer in either hand.

When I was in high school I brought me all the fingers in my right hand once and while they were healing I wrote left handed

Once healed I went back to right handed even though a couple of teaches wanted me to stay writing left handed as my writing was better left handed

But I think because if a teachers in primary school wrapping my knuckles whenever I used a pencil left handed it became engraved in my mind to write right handed

I to can use either hand for controlling the mouse

With most sports I bounce back and forth
Darts bowling table tennis etc

This is great news from you. I really impressed .we are looking up to you nice idea.

Thanks kindly your support is appreciated

Have a great day

Ahhhh I'm visiting museum soon because of these lovely pictures😍😍

Cool glad they inspired you 👍🙂👍

PIZZA! PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@tattoodjay(2/5) tipped @johannpiber (x1)
johannpiber tipped tattoodjay (x1)

Please vote for pizza.witness!

@johannpiber denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@johannpiber thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !

It's interesting to look that museum through mono images. But the doll looks quite scary. And I'm surprised to know that building was built from 1834. People must have done a good job to maintain it.

Ohh yes it is very well maintained they do such a great job

WOW, fabulous photos!
Happy Valentine's Day to you, @tattoodjay!

Thanks kindly your support is appreciated
And thank you
Happy Valentine’s Day
Have a great day

When I was small, we did not have electricity. My mom had a peddle sewing machine and made all of our clothes. I learned how to sew on it. I think the brand was a White machine. I wish I had one, now.

That’s so cool maybe you can find one sometime

Yes, I can only wish.

My mom had a similar sewing machine and scissors, I think her brand was something like Zetina!

I haven’t heard of that brand

Cool stuff. I like the choice on the editing! I usually enjoy some museum walks!

Thanks kindly

I do enjoy museums that show the history of the are especially

Interesting place mate

Thanks kindly your support is appreciated

Have a great day

You mean, there's nothing creepier than a doll? indeed! I did have the Singer machine at my grandma's back in the days.

well I should say not all dolls are creepy, but in a mono edit they do look a bit creepy especially the vintage worn ones

Thanks kindly your support is appreciated
!LUV some !BEER now and again
Have a great day