Saturday - Popes Island and an update on my surgery hospital stay

Popes Island and an update on my surgery hospital stay

Good Morning and happy Saturday , have a good day and weekend

I thought I should give an extra update on my stay here in hospital

Let’s see it’s day 12 I think thought I originally thought would be at 5 to 7 day stay as
I thought that was the recovery time, well seems that is for a partial colon removal but can drag on a lot longer for full removal

For the most part, I’m staying mentally positive and feeling OK. The big hold up is basically for my I call them Gastro part of my body, intestines and stomach and such to start passing gas which they had hoped what happened six days that some just take a while to kickstart they keep saying This stage I have no idea how much longer I will be in here. Thanks for all the positive energy prayers and support truly appreciate it.

Today I will share a few shots from visits to Popes Island some shots are recent and some from visits last year

a Shot of the swing truss bridge catching a light trail of a car driving by


popes island-2.jpg

Sony A7iv 17mm F22 10 Sec ISO 100
Click here to view larger


The New Bedford-Fairhaven Swing Bridge sees an average of 5,000 openings a year for vessels
the Swing Truss Bridge and it was built between 1897 and 1899 and includes a 283.2 foot long swing truss which with its age and style Whenever I visit Popes Island for a walk, I generally walk over it and occasionally get some shots of it.

the cost of maintaining the bridge is apparently a challenge and they are now planning to replace this bridge with a lift bridge that raises up the bridge portion rather than swinging it out But i think this is still in the planning stage and will take a few years to complete

This shot shows the platform or base of the bridge that when it swings upen to let ships pass the swing bridge rotates over its funny the morning I took this there were no seagulls on this side, and yet when I walked across the bridge and bakc over on the pother side the similar pletform to this their was covered with seagulls,

I have noticed that a few times I wonder why one sid eis more popular than the other


popes island.jpg

Sony A7iv 17mm F11 4 Sec ISO 100
Click here to view larger


now off the bridge and looking at the Popes Island marina some real nice private boats docked there


popes island-3.jpg

Sony A7iv 17mm F9 10 Sec ISO 100
Click here to view larger


and looking the other way some of the commercial fishing boats


popes island-4.jpg

Sony A7iv 20mm F8 1/125 Sec ISO 200
Click here to view larger



popes island-5.jpg

Sony A7iv 28mm F11 10 Sec ISO 100
Click here to view larger


And that’s all folks


unless stated otherwise all photos used in my posts are taken and owned by myself, if you wish to use any of my images please contact me.



TEAMUSA JJ hive.jpg

TeamUSA is a Community for and supporting those from of in the United States, and now is in the process of rebuilding stronger than ever join us on Discord


Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Just you keep on going JJ, and as usual, you are in our prayers.
!LUV to Lulu.

get well soon mate

Hope you get home soon. ❤️

Hello dear friend @tattoodjay
I was anxious to hear from you, rest assured, you are controlled there at all times and that is very good. You will soon be home again.

Oh gosh! Wishing you a speedy recovery and you’re back out and about again.

Greetings @tattoodjay

So sorry to hear you are still in hospital....

You are in bleujay's thoughts and prayers, to be sure.

All the best to you.

Good to hear from you. Here's to you getting back on your feet soon 🙏

The shots with the night lights are my favourite. They look so alive and beautiful. Amazing shots.

I hope you feel better and recover quickly. From the period I stayed in the hospital with my mum, I understand it can be uncomfortable staying there for so long.

All will be well.
Thanks for sharing your experience with us!

Get well soon.😊
The pictures you captured were magnificent.

My thoughts are with you as you go through this my friend. I hope things happen so they can let you go home soon. Very awesome bridge. I should try to get photos of the old swing bridge near me sometime.

I wish you a speedy recovery and many more walks and photos, @tattoodjay.
Best of luck! 🍀

I hope you can go home soon and recover quickly. My thoughts and best wishes to you and your wife.

Back home soon wishes for you, being a fan of the outdoors not easy to remain in a hospital, ever!

Brilliant photographs throughout, bridges always fascinating, engineering how they overcame problems back then, still in use today, which is an achievement on it's own.

!LUV Thoughts are with you, feel better soon.

Nice shots of the bridge! Keep those spirits up, a full colectomy is a big procedure and takes time to bounce back! Glad to hear you are holding up well, tough to do in the hospital. I hope you will be healed enough and have the GI tract up and running to get out soon!

Get well soon! ❤️‍🩹 good to see you post and keeping us all on our toes. Sending love and prayers to your my friend.