The Palmers island Lighthouse

The Palmers Island Lighthouse

As I have shown and mentioned in a few posts I do a lot of walks on the Harbor walk here in New Bedford and most of the shots focus on the Main harbor walk with the paved walkway, but I often walk out the other way to where the Hurricane Barrier finished on the New Bedford side, with a small opening for boats to pass before the Fairhaven Barrier all starts.
On this part of the walk you can see the Palmers Island Lighthouse which will be the focus of this post.

Here it is, with a catamaran anchored in front of it Which made me think of @rossfletcher who recently shares some shots of a catamaran he saw


Palmer Island Lighthouse-3.jpg

Sony A7iii 112mm F8 13.2 Sec ISO 100
Click here to view larger



Now a little about the lighthouse, it was built on the northern point of the island for $1,951 by Charles M. Pierce, a mason.
Can you imagine how much it would cost to build something similar these days

Now I mentioned the island which is Palmers Island which I will share a shot of in a future post and talk about for this post I am focusing on the Lighthouse.

It was first lighted on August 30, 1849, by William Sherman who was the keeper. The 24-foot tower was built of rubblestone, with wooden windows and floors.

Seeing how old it is I thought a couple of Mono shots were appropriate.

As with many lighthouses in that era the lamps were fueled by New Bedford whale oil


Palmer Island Lighthouse.jpg

Sony A7iii 178mm F8 1/125 Sec ISO 1000
Click here to view larger


As you can see the lighthouse still remains but some other buildings buildings including a keeper's dwelling and an enclosed walkway (1849), a fog signal building (1900) and an oil house (1905) were destroyed by the Hurricane of 1938., which in part led to building the Hurricane barrier wall which was built in 1963


Palmer Island Lighthouse-4.jpg

Sony A7iii 112mm F8 1.3 Sec ISO 100
Click here to view larger


Over the years the lighthouse suffered from vandalism, but was eventually bought by the City of New Bedford and they restored it including relighting it in 1999


Palmer Island Lighthouse-2.jpg

Sony A7iii 115mm F8 1/125 Sec ISO 1000
Click here to view larger


Whenever I see a lighthouse I think of them as a beacon of light, and see them as a reminder that in our lifes we should strive to be a beacon of light to those around us, especially in the dark times around the world these days


Palmer Island Lighthouse-5.jpg

Sony A7iii 78mm F8 1 Sec ISO 100
Click here to view larger


And that’s all folks


unless stated otherwise all photos used in my posts are taken and owned by myself, if you wish to use any of my images please contact me.



TEAMUSA JJ hive.jpg

TeamUSA is a Community for and supporting those from of in the United States, and now is in the process of rebuilding stronger than ever join us on Discord


!pinmapple 41.619467 lat -70.913685 long The Harbor Walk New Bedford MA d3scr

Sort:  

Great shots! I especially like the more sepia toned one, it looks like it could have been taken in the 1850s or 60s. My wife and I haven’t been out in your neck of the woods since the kids were small and we did Cape Cod a couple of summers. When we go to Mass, we do Cape Ann or Lowell (for the quilters museum). Missed going all last year. !pizza !wine


Hi @industriousliv, You Have No Enough WINE Tokens To Make Another Successful Call.
Please Stake More WINE Tokens.
(We Will Not Send This Error Message In Next 24 Hrs).

wine_logo


Contact Us : WINE Token Discord Channel
WINE Current Market Price : 0.271

Thanks, thats what I was going for with that one :)
I havent been to cape Ann, well only having moved here last year a lot of places we havent been yet but hope to explore more


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

The mono shots look great and they show the age of the lighthouse, as you say, but I do like the last photo most - it looks so calm and peaceful, almost like from a dream 😊
Yep, we need some beacons of light, especially in these times.


!invest_vote

Morning my friend thanks fir the visit and kind words
I hope your weekend is going well watching a potential hurricane heading our way with luck it’s turning and we will miss the worst of it

Good morning JJ, all my pleasure :)
I'm working today and night, but it's an easy day and I can do a lot of photo editing 😁
I hope the hurricane makes a turn before it reaches your town - I have seen in many videos how much power they have and what they can destroy.

Well that’s good you can do editing
I think it’s going to turn so it’s looking better for us

!invest_vote

Yep, today is quite good for doing private stuff 😎
These are good news and hopefully it stays that way.


!invest_vote

Let’s hope so

Cheers and !BEER

Yep 🤞


Cheers and !BEER


Hey @tattoodjay, here is a little bit of BEER from @johannpiber for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.


Hey @johannpiber, here is a little bit of BEER from @tattoodjay for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

@johannpiber denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@johannpiber thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !

@tattoodjay denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@tattoodjay thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !

@johannpiber denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@johannpiber thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !

ohhhhhhh the mono.... yes
both of those are just hauntingly beautiful and reminiscent of another time!!!
and i thought they were my favorite (and still m ight be??? hahaha i can't tell)

but that last one with the beautiful vignette .... i'm a sucker for vignette hehehe

sometimes i like it when its really pronounced - but other times - i love the illusion of it... almost so light that you don't see it. but your brain recognizes that its there - and give you the feel of being pulled in.

that's what i see in that one! hehehehe so beautiful

good morning my friend! I hope your day is starting off so nice :)

Good morning I to am a sucker for vignettes and often add the either very subtle or pronounced

Yes day is starting well the hurricane heading our way has turned a bit and if it stays in that track we will not be hit to hard

I hope your weekend is starting well

ohhhhhhh yes - i heard about that.

man - they are no fun when they come too close - but they do get some pretty lightning storms and such when they are a safe distance away

please be safe!!!

Will do I am playing it safe bringing in the outdoor furniture just in case I think it will be fine

have you ever seen the gif mocking the little tremors here in Cali that we get. when the media makes a big deal out of the tiny earthquakes hehehe

image.png

your comment about the outdoor furniture reminded me of it and gave me a giggle... though i'm sure you will have to practically nail yours to the ground when a hurricane passes through! LOL

sending love!

Lol funnily enough I have seen that and I was thinking about it as I moved things lol

hahahahahaha nice to see we are still twins LOL

Very true, Lighthouse is a symbol of direction and telling someone how to stay safe. I was just wondering how effectively you showed the same lighthouse in different colors and shades.

Thanks so much have a great day

🏃🏃‍♂️🏃🏃‍♂️

👍🙂👍

I love that it's still a working lighthouse after so long! I wonder what Mr.Pierce would say :) ....

I am sure he would be very happy

Hiya, @LivingUKTaiwan here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest #1298.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

Beautiful images. There is an old world charm about lighthouses. Yeah, it does seem to beckon us to be a beacon of light to the world.

Thanks kindly your support is appreciated

Have a great day

My pleasure.

Hi, I have manually curated your content as you have posted a photo that I found interesting. Your post will be included in my Photophile series of posts and let me share you some !PIZZA and !BEER for the curation!


@tattoodjay! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @photophile.

Learn more about $PIZZA Token at hive.pizza (3/10)

Thanks kindly your support is appreciated

Have a great day

Nice shot the atmosphere looks calm and peaceful..you can tell from the pictures that how beautiful the pictures are.....
Well done

Thanks kindly your support is appreciated

Have a great day

!LUV some !BEER now and again

<><

<><

LUV

Connect

Trade


@pixresteemer, you've been given LUV from @tattoodjay.

Check the LUV in your H-E wallet. (1/4)