You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Mushroom Kingdom

Not laughing at all at the cameras you use - the Canon Powershot SD1100 is from the same family as my TX1, and your Nikkon Coolpix S4300 is the next generation of the Nikon Coolpix S3200 I used for several years until I broke it by dropping it while it was turned on (can't remember what happened to the first one). It made some good images, and I even used it recording some of my artwork, as you can see in this here on Flickr: ENTWOOD - NOT JUST ANOTHER PRETTY LANDSCAPE - zoom in and see the quality of the image! I actually was looking for a replacement, since I had, as mentioned, two of them before, and at the times I bought them, they came with spare batteries, so now I have batteries galore, but not the camera to fit.
My other "ancient" camera is a Samsung Pro 815 which I also use on occasional photo safaris - I bought it when it came out in 2005. It still works great. It survived some grueling Canadian Winters, outdoor shots at well below -25°C: EXAMPLE.

Sort:  

Man, you have some great photos... and you already know great artwork as well. Those were some really good quality images and the details were even better when zoomed in.

That frozen landscape looked really crisp and was well composed. I know i had to continually put my cameras in my pockets to keep them warm when not in use when i would take photos in Sweden during their winter.... though i don't think we ever got quite down to -25°C. Sometimes i thought i was going to lose my clicking finger or two... but i am probably just embellishing how cold it felt. You probably could have at those temps! ahhahah

Glad to hear that my stuff isn't as outdated as i thought. I bought the Canon PS for myself as a Christmas present in 2012 if i remember correctly. My sister gave me her Nikkon when she upgraded... so i have been pretty fortunate.

One day it would be cool to take rewards from some photography posts and buy some upgraded equipment. Until then... i will make do. Thanks for all the interaction lately. It's always a real joy and pleasure connecting with you. I did see that Giger influence in some of those Flickr arts!

About Sweden: when I was a kid, I read books about south-sea islands, pearl diving and adventures. I always wanted to go there. Instead, in my late teens I went to Sweden and lived there for almost 5 years, and subsequently Canada for the better part of my life. Going north, instead of south. Taking leave of Canadian Winters only occasionally to fly to Hawaii the odd January, for a quick warm-up for a week or two.
Worse, for the most part in Canada, I worked for the railway, the last 20 years in the mechanical department, mostly outdoors, and in Winter, we had often derailments we had to go to attend to.
Scenes like this I was used to - got snowed in quite often:

CP RAIL WINTER.jpg

Yes, Hawaii and Florida are two hotspots for the winter months to avoid the cold. It makes sense after spending that much time in Sweden that Canada and North rather than South would be more similar. It's funny how things work out sometimes.

The rail is very interesting in and of itself. I have a couple of friends that worked on the lines and here in Texas, Dallas and Fort Worth are both railroad cities dating way back. Though i think it would have to be a cold day in hell after if froze over to get that kind of snowdrift.

Your photo reminds me of SnowPiercer... which has a movie and a show. Both are good but i prefer the original movie which i linked there. You are probably familiar with both if i had to guess. Are you still in Canada now, and if so whereabouts if i may ask?