You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Photography Lovers Community Curation - 04/04/2021

@fivealive55 nailed it. There is no reason you can't capture incredible images with your cellphone. Composition is king, but the icing on the cake is being able to pull from your image the feel you had while taking it. jpegs right out of your camera rarely represent what you saw in real life. I shoot with a 10+ year old non-pro DLSR and my cell phone. Depending on conditions, you can't tell which is which. The DSLR just allows a wider range of lenses and it does have better low light sensitivity, but only so far with the older tech. It's a little more forgiving. I edit my photos with exclusively open source editing software as well. Most of the time using Darktable or LuminanceHDR(if you have RAW files). I think we should have more gear reviews in the Photography Lovers community, it would help with some of the perceptions.