Nature's Peerless Hunters

So there I was, sitting on a comfy, moss-covered rock and munching on some honey-roasted peanuts after my Stone Mountain hike. 44 F degrees outside, no clouds, a whole forest to myself while I reminisce about how great the Gameboy Advance was.
Then I hear a rustling behind me. Not a natural rustle caused by the wind or falling leaves, a scuttling, scurrying, moving kind of rustle. But whenever I turn around, it immediately stops.
My spider senses begin tingling... literally.
Eventually, with unblinking eyes constantly scanning the forest floor around me, I spot this wee bastard, a hairy Carolina Wolf Spider (Hogna carolinensis), sneaking around in the leaves.


Wold spider 2.jpg

She was clever enough to only move when my back was turned, and since we had ourselves a staring contest for a while, she was an eight-legged statue.

Classic wolf 4.jpg

When she did dart for cover, she always made sure to position herself so she had one eye trained on me. Always watching... Always watching...

Wold spider 3.jpg

I do not like spiders, but after all the different species of spiders I've encountered during my adventures and after all the different ways I've seen them hunt, hide, ambush, and kill... I can respect them. They are peerless hunters in the animal kingdom. If spiders were just a little bigger, if they were just a little more coordinated, we might not be as high on the food chain.
I do not like spiders.

Classic wolf 3.jpg

For more nature adventures and photography, check out my site at AuthentikNature.com

Sort:  

Hello @thewritevictor, and Hi to that little Carolina Wolf critter too! I like looking spiders (as long as they don't startle me), not much on touching them.

This is the @proteancreator from @ocd (Original Content Decentralized) team 😄. We saw that you already posted your first blog here in Hive! Congratulations and welcome!

Anyways, the best way to start your journey here in Hive is do an awesome ✨introduction post✨. You can choose on whatever information you would like to share and be creative as you want to be (you can even mention your other fascinating arachnid friends 😉). This will help other Hivers get to know you and be comfortable supporting your works here.

It's also best to subscribe to Communities you like and share your blogs there to have a wider range of audience. Or you can check out the Communities Incubation Program.

Also, letting you know since content on the Hive platform is monetized, using other people’s ideas or images could be considered as an offense and which is also viewed in a serious light on the blockchain. Here is a useful collection of resources about how plagiarism and abuse is viewed and handled on Hive.

If you are looking for tips and information as a Hive newbie, click here: Newbie guide. If you have questions, you can hop into Discord server and we'll gladly answer your questions. Feel free to tag @lovesniper @proteancreator once you have made your awesome ✨introduction post✨! See you around 😉.