Amateur Photography: Ant Colony

HiveLogoDoubleLineRed.png

“Am I as admirable as that ant?”
― Nobuyuki Fukumoto, Saikyō Densetsu Kurosawa 11: Source

MultiHiveLogoRed.png

AntCrawlJawsOpen.JPG

-Ant with her jaws open-


I am an amateur photographer

I have many hobbies. And my newest one is using my partner's Nikon D800 camera for photography. I am nowhere remotely good, but I can sometimes get a clear shot. I'm trying to figure out the aperture and increase the depth of field of my macro-shots. But learning takes time.

Some people love landscapes, others skies and birds, but I like looking at the ground. One of the first subjects I focused on was this ant colony near my house.

HiveLogoGradientLineRed.png

CUAntClearHead.JPG

-Trying to get a close shot but it's a tad blurry-


Failure

I fail a lot, at everything. But I don't really let it get me down because it's normal to be bad at something in the beginning. Learning and practicing properly takes time, and when you are a beginner, you've barely put any time into it yet. So, I will share some of my poor shots as well.

(Maybe not the really horrible ones, those are embarrassing)

I practice and try again.
And again.
And again.

Eventually, I will get good at photography and gather some great shots in my portfolio. I aim to photograph plants and various animals I can find in nature.

HiveLogoSimpleLineRed.png

CUAntOnSide.JPG

-Interior of the ant colony entrance. They were cleaning up debris-


If I take a million shots: Will one be good?

Due to my skill level, I have to take a lot of shots so that about one of the photographs of my subjects turns out decent. I'm trying to study the settings on my camera to figure out how to get good clear shots more often.

I do love immortalizing my views of the world through photography. My interests in insects, arachnids, and plants can be shared through my perspective. And I hope my love for these living beings is being shared through my lens.

HiveLogoGradientLineRed.png

AntHeadCenter.JPG

-I love seeing the compound eyes for ants. I think she can see me in this shot. Though, I may be blurry-


Ant Vision!

Ants have compound eyes and simple eyes. The compound eyes, like most insects, give them a wide field of vision but low quality. They often see the world very blurry. The larger the ant often leads to better eyes. Smaller ants take more time to travel as they bump into obstacles more often, as well as their legs are shorter. The simple eyes are likely just used for detecting light levels. Those eyes aren't very useful compared to their compound eyes.

I love getting a photo where their eyes are very clear. I like to look at them although they are definitely wary of me!

MultiHiveLogoRed.png

AntColony2.JPG

-A busy entrance with a lot of moving parts!-


Superorganisms!

Colony-style creatures interest me greatly. How they work together for a singular goal is fascinating. The social interactions and the depth of information that is obtainable from just observing them are insane to me!

Bees, coral, termites, and Ants are all the ones I can think of off the top of my head, but there are so many out there. All so similar, yet vastly different.


“One bee cannot build a hive; one ant cannot build a colony.”
― Matshona Dhliwayo: Source


HiveLogoDoubleLineRed.png

As always, thanks for listening to my story and me rambling about stuff. I always appreciate every interaction, no matter how small it may be. Just like the bee, or in this case the ant, I am but one. Together we are a community. I love the Hive community and all of you who put effort into making it a good place to be in. Have a good one, thanks so much!

If you've read this far, I would enjoy any follows and will follow back. I want to build a community of love and kindness. We all deserve that.


With lots of love,
♥️ @timmy-turnip ♥️

flickr-48x48-498429.pnginstagram-48x48-498425.pngtwitter-48x48-498411.png

HiveNameTechnoLinesRed.png

All photos in this post are taken by me using any of the following:

Nikon D800 and a 90mm Macro Lense

Sort:  

It's always better to try and fail than to not have tried at all. Cause it's not going to happen at all if you don't attempt it.

I completely agree. Life is tough, even harder when you give up!

Very nice @timmy-turnip
That's not an easy shot to make and while still getting bit by the ants. LoL 🐜🐜🐜🐜🐜

You may fail at everything but you do strive to be better despite your failures and that's what matters. You're by no means a perfect photographer now but you've gained the perspective of immortality through photography and with these beautiful pictures of the ant colony, it's safe to say that you're definitely getting there.🌹

Came in from #dreemport

I see actual photography shots and I want to one day at least be middle tier!

You will be without a doubt!

better to fail and learn than never try.

some nice pics in there

Yeah, failure is a teacher!

If you like ants, check out ants Canada on YouTube. 😁

You got some great shots here. I have a harvester ant nest in my front yard I have been watching for three summers now.

I tried my best! And I do like watching that channel. I’ve even considered having a colony of my own.

Keep it up! You have a good eye for photography. You could start playing with exposure and contrasts a bit. Regards.

I’m still learning the settings on the camera. There are so many buttons!

These pictures are beautiful. You did great taking them and your practice is going to turn into perfection sooner enough . Thank you for trying again and again.

Practice they say makes perfect. It's really tasking getting to snap insects you can't really predict them and tell them to pose like human. I must commend your patience

Thank you, they really take off if they see you too. I love capturing photos of them but they don't like to be photographed much!

U are welcome. Yes, they sense it as danger, so they try to leave

Hello friend like you I am an amateur and I enjoy taking pictures with my phone, hey capturing good pictures of insects is not easy and even less if they are ants, although there are some blurry ones, you can see the effort in them, cheer up you are not alone, I'm on that road haha.

Thanks for the encouragement! They are tiny and get out of focus so easily. I’m trying to learn my settings on my camera to help.

You don't have to be a professional photographer before you can take amazing shots of plants and things! Just keep doing your things and keep advancing on a very good day you will be a professional! By the way, great pictures you have there!

@timmy-turnip, the HiQ Smart Bot has recognized your request (1/2) and will start the voting trail.

In addition, @timmy-turnip gets !PIZZA from @hiq.redaktion.

For further questions, check out https://hiq-hive.com or join our Discord. And don't forget to vote HiQs fucking Witness! 😻


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @timmy-turnip ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Congratulations @timmy-turnip! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 2500 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 2750 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

The Hive Gamification Proposal

Hey mate, we accidentally set you a beneficiary and it means that you'll get a payment this week that you shouldn't have. Can you send it back to us please? Much appreciated!

Sure! When is the payment expected?

Tomorrow. THANKYOU so much for your honesty, REALLY appreciated!