My first time adventure inside a glacier

 "DSC_4513 copy.jpg" Pictured: our pilot posing for a shot near the rear of the cave.

Glaciers are fascinating. The fact that ice can actually flow and accumulate over such long periods of time blows my mind. Here in British Columbia, we're fortunate to have around 17,000 of them, although they are melting faster than ever before. For years it has been a dream of mine to get inside one, to see an ice cave. I had hiked to glaciers before, but they were smaller glaciers, without caves. All of the largest and best glaciers for caves are extremely remote, to the point where hiking isn't a feasible option for access.

So, I got in touch with my helicopter pilot friend. I typically save the use of helicopters for extremely special trips to places that are otherwise impossible or too sketchy to access on foot. I convinced a couple buddies to come along and we kept a close eye on the forecast. Spring weather can be pretty unpredictable and you don't want to end up trapped in the mountains! Before I knew it, we were flying from Vancouver to a glacier about 50 minutes north. We took off at sunrise, which made for incredibly beautiful flight over the mountains. 50 minutes is quite long for a helicopter flight, but time flew by and soon we were landing in the snow at the foot of a glacier, which was also buried in snow.

 "_DSC3813.jpg" Pictured: me and the helicopter, with the glacier buried in the background. To the left of me you can just see where some footprints go down into the cave entrance.

Seeing the buried glacier, and then noticing the small openings into the caves, was quite intimidating. I will never forget the feeling that washed over me when I went into the cave, as it was like nothing else I had ever experienced. By going into an ice cave, you are relinquishing full control of your life to Mother Nature. Ice caves are inherently unstable, even in cold temperatures, so there is no choice but to accept the risks.

 "DSC_4437_final (1).jpg"

If you do accept the risks, the experience is breathtaking. The walls looked like they were carved by an artist, rather than just water. I reached out and touched the walls and they were as smooth as they looked, as if they were glass. The floor of the cave was frozen, but under all of that ice, the river was roaring. When you picture an ice cave in your mind, you might imagine a quiet place, and it would be in the dead of winter. But during the other months, melt water flows. The roaring echoed and reverberated and there was one section at the end of the cave that we had to take care to avoid, as the ice was thin, creating a risk of breaking through and falling into the river's literal headwaters.

 "DSC_4506 copy.jpg" Pictured: my friend Matt Jackisch taking a look at the cave ceiling.

 "DSC_4576 copy.jpg" Pictured: my friend Blake Randall setting up for a shot near one of the three cave openings.

The cave was huge - the size of a multiple houses, at minimum. I took those photos of my friends to help provide a sense of scale. There were times where I'd gaze at the ceiling above me, and wonder if it was about to crack and come crashing down.

 "DSC_4484_blended copy (2).jpg"

When I was taking the self-portrait above, that's exactly what I was thinking about. The most dangerous part of the cave is around the entrances, so I made sure to quickly get my shot over and done with!

In the end, we spent a good five hours photographing the ice cave. Reluctantly, we packed our gear back into the helicopter and began the flight back to civilization. I still think about it often, as it was one of the best experiences of my life. Unfortunately, the cave has since collapsed and melted, the glacier receding significantly. But other caves are likely accessible now, and I hope to return again in the spring to view the changes with my own eyes, rather than just satellite imagery. The following are two of my favorite images from the trip, although they don't have any humans to provide a sense of scale:

 "DSC_4632_blended copy 2 final (3).jpg"

 "DSC_4561 copy (1).jpg"

Thank you so much for reading my blog, and I hope you enjoyed the images! Please feel free to ask any questions you may have :)

--

PS: If you're a landscape photographer, you may want to check out Landscape Photographers Worldwide on Discord. I created the server almost a year ago because so many of us were fed up with Instagram, and we wanted a place where we could share work, talk about photography and learn without algorithms holding us back. Many of us are into crypto and using Hive too, so you will probably feel right at home!

Sort:  

Wow! All the light reflecting from the ripples on the wall is just beautiful.
Amazing place.

Thank you and thanks for the reblog :)

Ice caves are seriously magical places. They don't feel like real life.

These are so cool. I would be so claustrophobic in there.

My brain was very confused. On one hand, I was constantly in awe. On the other, I was constantly worrying about the roof falling or something like that. Quite the experience!

Looks like an amazing cave.

It was nuts. I think this spring I gotta see if my pilot buddy would be willing to heli camp there. Spend as much time in the glacier as possible!

Congratulations @tristan.todd! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 1500 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 1750 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

The Hive Gamification Proposal for 2022
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Manually curated by EwkaW from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Exotic stuff, would love to visit myself.

Exotic is a good word for it. Hope you can explore an ice cave someday!

Wow...I can't imagine how great it is to be able to travel and visit glaciers, for me, it's even a video game adventure 🤔 I like your post!

It's definitely one of those things that feels like an adventure from a video game or book. Hope you can visit one some day :)

What a breathtakingly beautiful cave. The photos are amazing!

It is really awesome, I wish to be there with you, you have captured good pictures of glacier from inside portion. It is very dangerous to enter inside a glacier, you are brave!

If you avoid the warm parts of the year it can be done with relative safety. Always good to wear a helmet in case rocks or smaller ice chunks dislodge and fall. But the risk is definitely there, no way around that!

Verdant canyons and waterfalls to artisan carved glass caves. I'm enjoying these posts, Tristan!

Glad you're enjoying the posts, Kieran! I suppose it's safe to say I'm obsessed with things that have been carved by water, lol.

Oh wow I am speechless, this is just gorgeous! The ice, the blue hues, the archictecture behind the natural ice formation. You were so lucky to have a pilot take you there! Beautiful photos, this added up to my day, thanks🤗

Thanks so much Mary, glad you like the images so much :) It was an incredible experience. Definitely fortunate to have connections like that - it still wasn't cheap, but it was way cheaper than paying for a guided service!

It was worth it, the images are superb!

This is insanely beautiful!

You've got yourself a follower 'cause I really enjoy your work and all these amazing places, especially from BC and Vancouver! I really miss Canada!

Hi from Romania :)

Thank you for the follow and the kind compliments!! I'd love to visit Romania someday. Hope you're able to visit Canada again soon!

Yeah, I hope that too! with all this Covid, things got harder and complicated at the moment! :(

Now I want to see it too. because the photos are amazing. thanks.

Amazing place, the color catches my eyes, thanks for sharing with us 😍

Thank you for sharing this amazing post on HIVE!
  • Your content got selected by our fellow curator @stevenson7 & you just received a little thank you via an upvote from our non-profit curation initiative!

  • You will be featured in one of our recurring curation compilations and on our pinterest boards! Both are aiming to offer you a stage to widen your audience within and outside of the DIY scene of hive.

Join the official DIYHub community on HIVE and show us more of your amazing work and feel free to connect with us and other DIYers via our discord server: https://discord.gg/mY5uCfQ !

If you want to support our goal to motivate other DIY/art/music/homesteading/... creators just delegate to us and earn 100% of your curation rewards!

Stay creative & hive on!

This is incredible! A perspective very few will ever see in person

It's definitely a special experience. If you ever get the chance, do it!