Sort:  

Ah, it was a really long day in the end... someone had to return to camp by foot, and get a different vehicle, it took hours... Thankfully the snow was hard enough that we could use the 'quad' to pull the snowmobile to the road. Otherwise I'm not sure what we would have done. Then we had to make two trips to town, first one with the quad and the second one to bring the broken snowmobile. I'm glad the quad even made it, it's pretty beaten up itself and seemed like it was gonna die as well. I was pretty cold at the end of it, just sitting there waiting for hours. But at least I took some pictures and it could have been way worse. Now we always make sure to have a spare belt for the snowmobile, like you are supposed to. And I make sure to bring a way to start a warming fire in those situations, even if it seems like everything will go okay, you never know.

Sure, we can predict what may happen but we have to be prepared and I hope that you have learnt your lesson already.