Having fun on a frozen Lake

in Photography Lovers2 years ago

20220118_151103.jpg

Our greatest weakness lies in giving up. The most certain way to succeed is always to try just one more time.
Thomas A. Edison

Nature hasn't given us much snow in past two, actually three weeks now, I've been working overtime all my will, giving out more to the world and as I mentioned fighting my own demons in my head.

Most of them have been around my mind wanting me to be in a comfort zone, overeating and wasting way too much of my free time on my laptop doing nothing. Actually more harm than nothing, decided to take action again and start steering in the right direction.

20220116_202842.jpg

My first successful longexposure shot at night, a day before full moon on a frozen lake

Ever since January started we started having freezing nights up to even -12 degrees, lately it got warmer with a ton of very beautiful weather, almost hot peaks of the days, followed with freezing temperatures through the night.

20220116_155305 (1).jpg
20220116_152833 (1).jpg
20220116_152823.jpg
20220116_151342.jpg

Luckly we have, what I thought of a hidden a shallow, medium size lake/big pond located only a few kilometers away from my apartment or an hour walk. With freezing temperatures and it's hidden location away from the sun it froze enough to walk on the ice comfortably and even a lot of people went ice skiing on it. The ice was at least 4 fingers thick, was strong and perfect for winter experience, when we almost ran out of snow.

Last two weekends I've spent quite a few hours on the lake with good old buddies, driving very fast, electric RC cars on the frozen lake, walking on ice, and we found a spot for ourselves in the middle of the swamp, where we could slide on the ice, even without any ice skating equipment. Fun times chatting, laughing, having fun, making coffee out there in the nature and most important.. Spending time in, with our beautiful mother nature.

![20220125_212018.gif](UPLOAD FAILED)

20220116_145311.jpg
Yes.. there was one guy with a quad on the ice with a few cracks and bangs!

Now two weeks later it's still probably walkable, but the cracks started to show up, a ton of them as it warms up over the days and continues to freeze overnight. We haven't had snowfall ever since temperatures fell, but we still have a bit of it.

20220116_145012.jpg
20220116_144433.jpg
20220116_144459.jpg

That did not stop me today, I listened myself, wanted to go snowboarding, found a spot and went straight to it early from work. I fell many times, only had two fingers of frozen snow to use, but it didn't stop me from enjoying till I ran out of water and decided I will go higher tomorrow on a small local skiing resort, where there is enough snow.

20220125_213250.gif

Photos and video's for GIFs were made (failed to upload) with my Samsung Galaxy A52s and a help of GIF maker without any photo editing, nor filters, just pure magic of nature and fun. - how could I add fair quality gifs here?

Thank you kindly for stopping by, wishing you all the best & a great day!

Imagination is everything it is the preview of life's coming attractions -Albert Einstein

Til next time, stay awesome... Happy, Strong & Healthy my friends !

Sort:  

Manually curated by ackhoo from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Thank you! :)

Love this level of detail. Thanks for sharing enjoy a !BEER and keep up the good work!

I try to take you with me out there, while reading, without exposing you to the cold, although cold beer also slowly melted it's way on the ice, so many audi logo's were made. :)
Thank you very kindly for the beer and leaving a comment, cheers!

That last gif worked ONE time, if I refresh and scroll back down to it, it will work again ONE time.
I copied the image address and tried it in discord, opens as a still image.
I pasted it into FB Messenger, and it worked once when I clicked the link. Bizarre behavior for a gif.
Otherwise all those images made me SO COLD!!! 🥶
All beautiful though, I will wouldn't want to live there ha ha

↑Upvoted↑and←Reblogged→

I hope you had double socks on, while reading :)
Thank you for trying it out and stopping by, it's weird but I guess it all has to do with size of the gif/image


Hey @warrkin, here is a little bit of BEER from @thethoughtpolice for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Congratulations @warrkin! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 7000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 8000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from day 29
Hive Power Up Day - February 1st 2022
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!