Walk around magical Venice, Italy pt.1

in Photography Lovers2 years ago

20220105_135059.jpg

Stop being afraid of what could go wrong, and start being excited of what could go right” – Tony Robbins

Venice is a very old city that has many different names, Venezia, in sLOVEnia we call it Benetke, it's also called "The city of Water", "city of Masks", "city of Bridges" and even "The city of Chanals".

First time I visited it I was around a 10 year old boy, when my father that was a bus driver took me with him on a journey around Venice, it was an amazing feeling to visit a new place, but I was a bit too young to catch everything as most of the stuff I remember were special masks, bridges, sea, tourists and the drive with a bus there and back home.

Last week I had another chance to go visit it work related. My director said if I want, I can leave early to go visit the old city of Venice and later in the evening pick up someone at the airport, ofcourse I did!

One of the best features about our sLOVEnia is that it's a tiny country and everything is really close. I started at 10am and parked in the old part of Venice in it's parking spot at around 13pm, where I left the car and went on a walkaround for almost 4 hours, till the time of colegues arrival time came close.

20220105_142914-COLLAGE.jpg

Started without a plan or a guide lines, the forecast for the weather wasn't good, but I was fortunate enough that it hold up without a raindrop till I arrived at the airport. The city is magical at it's presence, it's different from any other city I ever visited as it's really almost like "floating" on the water, connected with bridges where you don't see any other motor vehicle, but the boats.

20220105_135346.jpg
20220105_135636.jpg
20220105_140025.jpg
20220105_140337.jpg

First I went where there weren't many tourists, after over half an hour of walking I started using mr. Google to get to the tourist locations. Felt like a labyrint as everyhing started looking familiar and ended up walking in circles, till I found "the Grand canal". Then I knew I'm on the right path, got to the edge of the city to have a view to the sea.

It's a very old city and the architecture shows it with beautiful lines, bridges and the amount of lion scolptures you see everywhere. You know right away that it was build many, many years ago, nothing like we see in modern day today.

20220105_140654-COLLAGE.jpg

20220105_140619.jpg
20220105_140654.jpg
20220105_141414.jpg
20220105_141632.jpg

History does repeat itself

Venice and Italy had fought with many plagues, Spanish flue and simular today, with masks, doctors wore these

20220105_142017.jpg
20220105_142057.jpg
20220105_143202.jpg
20220105_144739.jpg
20220105_144801.jpg

This part was the first one, the one I wondered threw unknown part of the city to me, it was filled with grafitti, but eventually found my way to the grand canal, where I found the tourist paths. It was amazing to see it's beauty all over again, it really is something special.

I hope you enjoyed 'walking' with me, getting lost, reaching a few deadends and hopefully saw something new, interesting as well.

Thank you for stopping by, I wish you a good day and a good life.

Imagination is everything it is the preview of life's coming attractions -Albert Einstein

Til next time, stay awesome... Happy, Strong & Healthy my friends !

Sort:  

'Those who do not learn history are doomed to repeat it. - George Santayana

The plague costumes could be a trend now.😷

Lol I thought the same while reading the post. I would not be surprised if suddenly they would become a trend

Haha!
They can wear it, I'll focus on myself, my goals and get selfsustainable as soon as possible, this is just extra motivation. :)

noice!! never been to venice... does it actually smell bad from all the brackish water? or is that just a rumor?

Yeah sadly it does, somewhere more than other open places. Combined with cigaret smoke in the air as I bet 90% of people living there smoke as much as I saw there. Haven't seen any tourist, only locals, but hey for a visit, it was a journey :)