You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Mattapoisett Wharf at sunrise

in Photography Lovers2 years ago

I still think in Celsius, too. And litres. And metres. I will readily admit, however, that the names of measured units in the Imperial system are far more colourful than in metric. I mean, is not kind of awesome to say that I am 97,804.8 twips tall?

I really want a place to use that organically. Maybe next time I'm at the DMV.

Sort:  

I have more or less converters to Fahrenheit living here, now Twips was a term i had not come across always good to learn something new each day

Ha! What is a twip? Now I have to Google it. Ha! Who knew?

A twip (abbreviating "twentieth of a point", "twentieth of an inch point",[1] or "twentieth of an Imperial point"[citation needed]) is a typographical measurement, defined as 1⁄20 of a typographical point. One twip is 1⁄1440 inch or 17.64 μm