You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Sublime and Beautiful Sunday Buoys will be buoys

in Photography Lovers2 years ago (edited)

Dont you hate having to think what is the politically correct way to say things sometime, now I do not want to be sexist saying fishermen as I know there are many fisherwomen as well so perhaps from here on it I will say fisherpeople) working loading or unloading the boats

I usually do not think about "political correctness". I am not a native English person, but I think that saying that saying "fishermen is sexist" is a huge exaggeration. This has nothing to do with sexism. I have not heard anyone saying the fisherwomen word/phrase/term, but everyone knows that both men and women are fishing. I would not think that any woman would be offended by hearing someone addressing them as fishermen. Maybe this is just/only me, and the world is indeed becoming/became too sensitive/oversensitive.

Sort:  

I think your the way it should be some words have been around for generations and there shouldn’t be any problem with using them