Building the Rising Star Wiki: Help Wanted! ⭐

in Rising Star Game β€’ 2 years ago

Hello Rising Star players, fans, and supporters.

I've been toiling away on a little project: building out a wiki for Rising Star!

🎸 You can visit it here: https://rising-star-game.fandom.com/wiki/Rising_Star_Game_Wiki 🎸

I've populated it with 32 pages so far, filling in things that I've learned about. But a wiki is never the work of just one person. Anyone who's willing can help!

This post outlines some of the ways you might be able to help, as well as an initial rationale and vision for this wiki. And if you have wiki management experience, we could definitely use your input!

feb_25_early_wiki_screenie.png
divider_thick.png

πŸ€” Why make a wiki? On a web2 platform no less?

Good questions!

Why a wiki: A few days ago, Rising Star surpassed 5,000 users. It continues to grow and bring value to the Hive ecosystem. More and more people arrive in the Discord chat and ask the same questions over and over. The support team handles it all just fine... but if this momentum grows I can see the need to have a more robust "self serve" solution beside the game's FAQ.

Wikis are excellent for organizing information too. To find helpful posts here on the Hive blog, you need to do some serious searching. With a wiki, we can build out a nav and discovery process that can give new and seasoned players alike a much nicer experience.

Why use a web2 service like Fandom: First, I'm pretty sure there is no wiki platform here on Hive. If I'm wrong or if that changes, by all means we should import the content from Fandom!

Second, building out a solid wiki on an established platform like Fandom can help with game discoverability outside of web3. There's also some SEO juice that can be developed by creating a good wiki!
divider_thin.png

πŸ—ΊοΈ Initial vision for the wiki

It's pretty simple: a community maintained repo of Rising Star strategy, tips, info, and guides.

I'd like to make sure that we link back to the great stuff written in this community and others (e.g. OneUp, LeoFinance). This will elevate the profile of the Hive Blog alongside Rising Star itself.

The wiki won't seek any formal resources from Rising Star itselfβ€”@atomcollector et al. are busy enough developing the game! This wiki is ideally supported wholly by the community.
divider_thin.png

πŸ”¨ How you can help

🏊 Dive right in if you want

Anyone with a Fandom account can edit this wiki. There are types of user permissions involved, but I'm not very familiar with how all that works (yet). You don't need any special permission from me to get started, though if you have ideas for big big changes, it'd be appreciated if you initiated a discussion about it first!

  • Leave a comment in this post
  • Find me on Discord: jfuji#0169
  • Use the Fandom community tools (each wiki page has a 'Talk' version, and there's a broader message board system for the whole wiki)
    Β 

πŸ“œ Check out the to do list

You'll notice that the sidebar of the wiki has a list of things that we could work on. Here are the details on each.
Β 

🎡 Finish baseline content 🎡

Rising Star has a lot of things to think about. Here are the 32 Pages I've written so far...

feb_25_early_wiki_32_pages.png

... But there's still way more to do. I've not gotten into detail about things like the individual Missions, Music Promoter, Record Staking... etc. Writing articles or suggesting topics is welcome!
Β 

🎡 Link / create more guides 🎡

Here, you'll find a paltry few wiki-native guides as well as an "Archive" of community-created guides. I'd love to fill out the archive more, and invite anyone to author new guides either on the wiki directly, or here on Hive.

feb_25_early_wiki_archive_guides.png

If you've written a great guide, feel free to mention it here in a comment and I'll add it (assuming it's decent quality). Or, go ahead and add it yourself!

There's currently no place for "My Rising Star Progress" posts on the wiki, but... no one's stopping anyone from making that! πŸ˜„
Β 

🎡 Improve formatting 🎡

Making the wiki look nice is not in my skillset. Templates and advanced formatting elude me. So if you have wiki skillz and want to tidy things up, please don't hesitate!
Β 

🎡 Improve navigation 🎡

I cobbled together the main nav based loosely on what I think would be helpful. It's not set in stone. Also, there are many other clever ways to make navigation and discoverability work nicer on a wiki. Again, not my skillsetβ€”halp!

feb_25_early_wiki_nav.png
Β 

🎡 Improve design 🎡

Erm, see above re: skillsets. πŸ˜…
Β 

🎡 Add more images 🎡

I know how to do this, but it's wooorrrk. I prefer writing! Currently, the wiki is a little drab and without helpful imagery. Remember to include attribution, and let's get some pictures in there!
Β 

πŸ€– Programmatically add card info πŸ€–

It'd be amazing to have a page for every card, with proper categorization. But I'm not manually writing each one, nor should anyone else! Most card/NFT info should be publicly available on Hive's blockchain. Someone out there definitely knows how to run some quick queries to generate a nice CSV, I'm sure. From there, you need to run some macros or spreadsheet formulas to convert that into the proper MediaWiki markdown.

I haven't found a way to bulk add pages to the wiki, so there may be some manual copy-pasting involved.

Of course, there may be an even easier way to do what I'm describing. Anyone up for the challenge?
divider_thick.png

Not listed: Fix the inevitable mistakes

I wrote a bunch of stuff, and I guarantee you there are typos, inaccuracies, confusions, and ignorance! And as more folks contribute... well, we'll want some editors.
divider_thin.png
Thank you for taking a look. Open to any and all feedback! And of course, if you know your way around a wiki, you can just go in and start remaking it however you'd like πŸ˜„
Β 

🎸 Visit the RS Wikihere: https://rising-star-game.fandom.com/wiki/Rising_Star_Game_Wiki 🎸

Sort: Β 

πŸ˜‰πŸ‘ Thanks for sharing the info~~~! #Raisingstar 🌟🌟
πŸ₯¦ !PGM πŸ₯¦

Sent 0.1 PGM tokens to @mizuosemla, @jfuji

remaining commands 9

Buy and stake 10 PGM token to send 0.1 PGM per day,
100 PGM token to send 0.1 PGM three times per day
500 to send and receive 0.1 PGM five times per day
1000 to send and receive 0.1 PGM ten times per day

image.png
Discord image.png

Support the curation account @ pgm-curator with a delegation 10 HP - 50 HP - 100 HP - 500 HP - 1000 HP

Get votes from @ pgm-curator by paying in PGM, here is a guide

Create a HIVE account with PGM from our discord server, here is a guide

I'm a bot, if you want a hand ask @ zottone444

definitely a needed resource. One thing that would be nice is to show the basic xp rewards for missions, before adding XP boost cards. Like Illegal Busking rewards a small amount of starbits when just starting out, and 10xp (without boosts). That way new players understand that some of the numbers in mission images are not the same as what they are seeing. My two Starbits, for what their worth.

I posted a crafting guide last night, feel free to add it to the wiki - https://peakd.com/hive-195370/@thunderjack/rising-star-crafting-tutorial-and-benefits

Working on adding some Mission info is next on my list! Good suggestion.

And I will def add the crafting guide to the wiki :)

Cheers!

If you want I can try to help since I am Software Engineer and maybe I can try to help in somethings

Β 2 years agoΒ (edited)Β 

Hey! That'd be awesome.

My main challenge right now is finding a way to scrape data out of the Hive Engine. I'd like to get a csv of all the NFT card data (not transactions or anything, just basic stats). Something like:

  • Card name
  • Fans: 10
  • Skill: 0

etc.

I am not 100% sure if this data lives on-chain, but other folks have def figured out how to build tools around this kinda stuff

e.g. https://rsgfam.com/shop/skill - you'll see the stats express here as something like "0f 0L 20s 1i."

I dunno if @foxon has built his own database of card data or has pulled it. I lack the scripting/querying skillz to dig in, hence the broader ask :)

It could be quite useful. There are a lot of tips new users might not know and they could be helpful towards new players.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

This looks like it could be useful. I hope people will contribute.

This is awesome, if anyone has details on how to get your own music into the game some how I'd love to read that part of the wiki. I feel like many music artists would be interesting in that.

This is a great idea - thank you for creating this Wiki!

Β 2 years agoΒ (edited)Β 

PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
trentonlundy1 tipped jfuji (x1)
@d-zero(3/5) tipped @jfuji (x1)
risingstargame tipped jfuji (x1)

Join us in Discord!

This is wonderful! Thank you so much!
!PIZZA

Congratulations @jfuji! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You published more than 40 posts.
Your next target is to reach 50 posts.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from February day 22

!LUV this idea. I hope many community members contribute.

This post has been manually curated by Rising Star Game


The NFT based music career game built on HIVE
!PIZZA

@risingstargame(1/1) gave you LUV. H-E tools | connect | <><

Given the current emission rate of LUV pushing 500/day, increases to required LUV levels will likely be forthcoming.

Hello friend, I think it is an excellent idea, I would like to help you with the content. In fact, I have just uploaded 1 post that I could also upload on that platform so that newcomers know how to use OpenHive.
https://peakd.com/hive-195370/@elfino28/espeng-new-marketplace-faster-and-with-filtersnuevo-marketplace-mas-rapido-y-con-filtros
Is it okay for you to upload this clear content only the text in English and the link to the video, in fact I did it on YouTube so that it is on the web 2
I wait your answer

Β 2 years agoΒ (edited)Β 

I do agree that RisingStar has enough complexity to need a compilated database of guides, tutorial and stats. The game is great and a resource like this will surely bring more players to it!

!1UP

This is so cool. I had no idea this was happening. There's been a lot of work already!!!
!LUV !PIZZA