Curiosities about instruments, the Gong and Rising Star Fan Art.

in Rising Star Game18 days ago

Greetings to all my dear Rising Star friends, today I am very happy to share with you a new article on my blog. I want to tell you some interesting facts about a very interesting instrument, I am referring to the Gong. And, as usual, at the end of the post I will present you some fan art that I have created, inspired by our beloved game, Rising Star. Without further ado, let's begin.

1717860032874.jpg

Source: Canva

Well, friends, to start off, I must first tell you what this instrument is. The first thing you should know is that the gong is a large metal disk, usually made of bronze or other metals, with the edges curved inwards. It is hung from a stand and struck with a large mallet to produce its sound. But did you know that this instrument has its roots in ancient China and dates back to 3500 BC? The truth is that they are very old😀. They have passed through many hands, that is without a doubt.

But the gong did not only serve or serves to make music, because in its early days and present, it is used in rituals to bring peace to the soul. And not only that, it is also used in funerals to help elevate the soul of the deceased, which gives it a mystical touch. In short, they have a fairly religious origin that was later evolved into different musical uses.

On the other hand, although the gong is originally from Asia, especially popular in China these days and past, it also made its way to Europe. It is said that François-Joseph Gossec, a French composer, was the first to include it in a symphony orchestra. If you ever hear a symphony that includes a gong, you can thank Gossec 😀.

  • As for the types of Gongs, there are several, but I am going to tell you about the most interesting ones. First we have the Nipple Gong. This has a protuberance in the center that is struck to produce a specific tone. The same as I mentioned in the paragraph above.

Second is the Bowl Gong. These are known as singing bowls, they produce a sound more like that of a church bell or similar, obviously not literal 😀. And finally the Suspended Gong, which is the most famous by far. As the name suggests, these gongs hang from a stand. Some have wheels to move around.

  • Gongs have been used to clear the way in imperial processions, call to battle, or even signal the arrival of a train. Their sound is so powerful that it can be heard 50 miles away. A fact that even surprised me when I was researching this instrument.

  • Although it may seem simple, playing the gong requires technique and skill. It is not just a matter of hitting and that's it, but there are specific techniques to get the best sounds. This knowledge has been passed down from generation to generation, making the gong a true art.

  • Interestingly, many people today confuse the gong with the tamtam, but there are key differences. The tamtam, also a metal disc, is always flat and without any protrusions, while the gong may have a "nipple" in the center, which is struck to produce a specific sound.

Rising Star Fan Art

Now, changing the subject, I present my post #69 about some of the fan art I've made with the help of DALL-E, inspired by our beloved game, Rising Star. In this post, I've used the card theme again along with several elements of the game. For example, I've added the star, some instruments and singers to give more personality to the images. Some of the images also have futuristic and retro touches, and I've added stages and concerts to give it a special touch.

The images are free to use, so you can use them from this post without any problem. I reiterate that they have been made by me with the help of DALL-E.

I hope you enjoyed this journey through the history and curiosities of the Gong. And that you liked the fan art. See you in a new post. Until next time friends, greetings to all.

1.jpg

2.jpg

3.jpg

4.jpg

5.jpg

6.jpg

7.jpg